Skip to content

Seasons

25133048159_1f38c85d29_o

For months I’ve written a new post every week or two, which I promptly delete.

Life is a bit of a muddle right now. Chaotic. Full of goodness and challenges, with brief bursts of time spent creating. Enough to write about. Occasionally.

24255163541_319215fe45_o

And yet I delete, for many reasons.

I’ve been stuck the past year or so. Not feeling creative and not having much success when I did try to get something going.

25500548005_00404861c3_o

Home projects, work deadlines, health issues, a sweet new grandson to squeeze my heart along with his big sister, and my guy’s surgery & recovery all contributed to less time in the studio, but they certainly didn’t cause the malaise. In fact, they just made it a bit easier to avoid. And sharing it here felt self-indulgent, not to mention pretty damned boring. Easier to hide out and wait for the storm to pass.

25500537775_888a986fbf_o

Going back into the studio after so long has taken significant emotional bootstrapping, not to mention sorting and purging and organizing after months of dump-and-run(away). A couple classes, time with dear (and insanely talented) friends, and a self-imposed break from quilting social media (guaranteed to kill off an already fragile spirit) have all helped.

25382101962_7745c840bd_o

At last another spring to inspire renewal and growth. To heal, recharge, reinvent.

25500567445_293b56e80b_o

In the past couple weeks, life has presented me with a chance for a big, scary, wonderful change later this year. At just the moment when I have the courage to grab on to it.

I won’t hit ‘delete’ this time. I kinda want to know what happens next.

25133046339_71db17ef44_o

14 Comments Post a comment
  1. Yeah! Can’t wait to spend some time with you!

    March 4, 2016
  2. Sorry for the fragility of the last months. Some things aren’t really in our control, are they? But wishing you the best and happy for whatever hopeful, positive change lies ahead.

    March 4, 2016
  3. Grace #

    A fragile spirit and the courage to grab hold of positive change, I can totally relate! You go do it!

    March 4, 2016
  4. Megan #

    lovely post Sandy, have missed seeing them, glad you are back…now when are we going for those drinks? P-)

    March 4, 2016
  5. Sandie, So enjoyable to read your post. Life’s season are so crazy and our reactions are so unpredictable. Hang in there, I’m sure you have a boat load of friends who love and support you and don’t give a rip whether you are at your most creative or not. Do it all because it brings you joy and don’t if it doesn’t. I hope to meet you someday at a Gammill Class. In the sewing sisterhood, Jill Therriault

    March 4, 2016
  6. I rarely hit the ‘Reader’ on the WordPress app but was glad that I did. What an uplifting tale – I look forward to hearing about the new adventures when you are ready to share šŸ™‚

    March 4, 2016
  7. Krista lolabluemar #

    Best thing I’ve read in a very long time. Thank you for sharing in all the ways you share. I really heart you.

    March 4, 2016
  8. Linda #

    The cycles of life can sometimes be trying, but the cycle that includes beautiful grandchildren make it all worth it! What beautiful, happy little ones you have. We all will enjoy seeing what happens next, just as you will. Enjoy the laughs and giggles of those little ones.

    March 4, 2016
  9. suesewcrafty #

    I totally get where you are coming from and am happy you didn’t hit delete. Cheers to exciting and scary changes! šŸ˜˜

    March 4, 2016
  10. Michelle #

    I am sorry life has brought so much upheaval for you this past year. I can relate to the emotional roller coaster of life’s bumps and blessings. You are a strong and amazing woman. I look forward to seeing what is coming your way. And thank you for posting and sharing.

    March 4, 2016
  11. Life is wild and thank you for sharing your experiences! Thanks for not deleting! Here is to a happy Spring.

    March 5, 2016
  12. I can relate in oh so many ways Sandie! Now I am looking forward to hearing more about your new adventure. Here’s to new and shiny adventures!

    March 5, 2016
  13. Can totally relate, it seems the hills and valleys of life just take us by storm from time to time. I find that if I make a conscious effort (because I tend to see the negative quickly) to stay positive it helps me through, looking forward the bright moment ahead. šŸ™‚

    March 6, 2016
  14. Laurel #

    hey, Sandie! Maker of gorgeous things, Sharer of your warm bright light, Possessor of a steadiness and calm which spreads out from you— I’m wondering what you are up to! Your projects are so inspiring, and when I’m wondering what to do next, I come to your page to get inspiration (and tutelage: i.e., napkins!). Doesn’t it feel wonderful to organize your space? To sort and cull and rearrange, and “master” your environment in some way that meets YOUR needs? I hope that you are happily chugging along, congrats on the new, “heart squeezing” grandson. Life is good. Love, Laurel

    May 5, 2016

Leave a Reply

