Skip to content

Hexed to Death

Some quilts just struggle to get made.

This one has been a love/hate project from the very start. I took the class with Jacquie Gering and Katie Pedersen in May of 2013. A normal person would have followed the instructions, cut a reasonable number of blocks, pieced and framed them and then moved on. New technique learned and a box happily checked.

Then there’s me, pre-cutting dozens of different fabrics into a zillion 5″ hexagons leaving me no choice but to slog on whether I wanted to or not. And I did not. I bitched and moaned and complained. I took it to sew-ins, retreats, and to the cabin for a relaxed vacation sewing. Mostly I brought it home barely touched.

I promised more than once that if it didn’t get pieced by the end of  THIS weekend, I would burn it. And when I texted Katie to whine about it, her response was always the same: “I love that quilt.”

I can hear my mom muttering “Sarah Bernhardt” under her breath. (Yes, I was that teenager.) I deserve a drama award.

Once I admitted the real problem was of my own making, it went together fairly quickly. The issue? One of my sewing machines is perfectly suited to short inset seams. I think of her as my Cadillac ~ all the bells and whistles (minus the crushed velour upholstery), power everything and heavy as a tank. It’s a Babylock, so it also has that irritating-as-hell little crying baby face when you get about HALFWAY through a bobbin. Drives me nuts, but she more than makes up for it with the auto backstitch and auto threadcutter. Turn those on, and it’s a breeze to secure both ends of the seam without fiddling with reverse.

So did I use that machine? Well…..not much. It’s not the little Bernina that travels with me, and it’s not the Pfaff Grand Quilter I use every day for piecing (a straight stitch, no-nonsense beast). So every time I did work on the quilt, there was much cursing, pleated seams and forgetting to reverse on both ends. Plus all those hanging threads. GAH!!

A couple months ago it occurred to me that the homeless, hopeless, much-maligned hexi quilt would be perfect in the freshly painted guest room. Perfect as in “which came first, the quilt or the color scheme?”

So I got over myself, finished the piecing on the Babylock, ordered grey gingham for both ends (it’s going on a daybed so the drop is on the short ends and one long side), a gorgeous grey/ivory flannel dot for the back, washed & pressed the fabric, cut, sewed, loaded, quilted, bound and washed it. Whew!

Katie was right. I love it, too. And I’m not the only one.

 

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. golfheader #

    Good on you for sticking with it, I love your hexie quilt,too!

    May 1, 2015
  2. I’m glad you’ve finished it – it is perfect, and beautiful!

    May 1, 2015
  3. Whew! What a relief, right!? Good for you for powering through. It looks awesome!

    May 1, 2015
  4. Beautiful! I think we all have one of those quilts that just won’t be finished – but once they are – it all seems worth it! I sometimes think of starting a hexie quilt – but so far, have resisted the temptation… maybe one day!

    May 2, 2015
  5. dinglebobbins #

    What did you hate about the piecing part of it? Was it the “Y-seams” or something else?

    May 2, 2015
    • lol – it’s a LOT of y-seams and back stitching. Add short seams, pleats (and unsewing), bias edges, etc. I’m crazy enough to do it again, but I’d either make the hexies larger, or I’d make something smaller.

      May 4, 2015
  6. Grace #

    What a lovely finish and quite a tale of perseverance! I’ll agree with Katie, I love this!

    May 3, 2015
  7. Janette #

    I have a similar hexagon quilt which is currently lying in several pieces (thought if I did it in stages it would be less tedious). Still nowhere near completion and think I have lost some of the original hexagons (as well as the will to ever look at it again). Totally get where you are coming from here. Your quilt is lovely so thinking now I should try to give it another go.

    June 19, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. April Wrap-up | Sleepy Owl Studio

Leave a Reply

