Skip to content

Hand-stitched Home

Have you seen this beautiful book yet?

Hand-Stitched Home Cover

When Susan contacted me about contributing an improvisational pillow design for her book, I jumped at the chance because a) Susan Beal, b) improv and c) Pendleton. Seriously?

Pendleton is simply the gold standard of wool fabrics and design. I know this because I was born here in the Pacific Northwest and it’s in our DNA (no, really). Long before quilting I sewed clothing, and there was nothing more lovely to work with than wool. But Pendleton is in a class by itself.

When the stack of fabrics came in the mail, it took almost no time to pick out the ones I wanted to work with and days to decide how to use them. I love bolsters, so that was an easy choice.

2013-09-30 14.48.17

It’s always a little counter-intuitive to write an improv pattern, but the technique is what matters ~ that and whatever you’re inspired to do with it, of course!

I promised this to Jon when it comes home:

ImprovChevronBolsterPg.54

I’ve already spent hours enjoying Hand-stitched Home, and while I’d love to make every project in it, there are a couple I must do. First is Diane Gilleland‘s Leaf Table Runner. Drop dead gorgeous:

And the 2nd is Sarai Mitnick‘s Laptop Sleeve/Zip Clutch. So classic and simple my iPad is begging for it.  If you’re looking for great gift ideas, there’s a tutorial for this clutch on Design Sponge, too.

And if you’re really in a gift-giving mood, gift yourself the book. No “thank you” note needed.

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Sandie, I love this, the shape and the colors! Not to mention I love working with wool. I will add this to my list

    December 6, 2014
  2. Wow! I love all the wool! And pillows are a perfect use. Delish!

    December 31, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. West Coast Crafty

Leave a Reply

