Skip to content

Life on the plus side

A finished top at last!

I started out March by committing (privately) to post more frequently. I’m so glad I didn’t stand up and announce that little gem to the world, because nearly the entire month has gone by without a single post.

Ninety-six napkins cut and the sewing started. Because I’m that kind of mom, and she’s that kind of girl. ❤

Life happened instead. Good things like a quilting retreat (with a finished top), a get-away-from-everything weekend (I did bring hand applique and some of my favorite people), and lots of early preparation for my girl’s October wedding. Scary things, too, like multiple trips to the ER and doctor appointments with my best friend (all is well with him – no worries).

Succulents & milk glass – getting a head start on wedding decorations

Best things? Time with Madie (always), taking a class and starting a healthy new eating plan,  selling my HQ16 (just yesterday – more on that soon), and seeing the proof sheets for my first published project. Worst things? Raging seasonal allergies, work projects that were really draining, guild commitments I came up short on, and now making the final decision on which longarm to buy.  Yes, I know the last one is the very definition of “first world problems”, but cut me a break.

Yogurt and fruit. Clearly a favorite.

March has been one of those months that I’d like to wrap a bow around.  My precious family, amazing and inspiring friends, a craft that brings me joy, and a fresh energy to own my health. The highs don’t come without lows, but it’s all relative. Or “it’s all your relatives”.  You’ll have to decide that one for yourself.
Oh, and the posting? I’ll do better in April. I promise.
7 Comments Post a comment
  1. I know that feeling well : )

    March 30, 2014
  2. I’m happy to read that you are doing some beautiful work while I am also coming up short on time, so I am spending it procrastinating and reading your blog! Thanks for giving me a little place to hide while I’m supposed to be writing a paper. And I look forward to hearing more about your pattern!

    March 30, 2014
  3. Hi! I’ve enjoyed reading your blog and seeing the wonderful things you make. I’ve nominated you for a Liebster award. You can check out the details here: http://burkehousecrafts.com/2014/04/01/wont-you-be-my-neighbor/!

    April 2, 2014
  4. Tanya #

    Hello………….. my name is Tanya, I have discovered your blog via flickr, where I have spotted some gorgeous framed star blocks that you made with the quilting divas back in 2011. I am trying to choose my block for my bee next month, and would really really love to get them to make these star blocks for me. Do you have a link to a tutorial you could send me, or point me in the right direction to try and find the tutorial for this block??? Thanks very much
    Tanya x

    April 15, 2014
    • Tanya ~ I used leftover foundation papers from a Judy Niemeyer quilt I made a few years ago (which is why they had to be framed to get a 12.5″ unfinished block). I just a did a quick Google search for “foundation pieced star block” and found several that were similar. Wombat Quilts in particular has some really beautiful star block designs for free.

      I love making and sharing these blocks and I’m sure you will, too!

      April 15, 2014
      • Tanya #

        Thank you so much, I’m off to hunt on the wombat quilts website xxx

        April 18, 2014
  5. That quilt top is just gorgeous. Nice work indeed!

    April 26, 2014

Leave a Reply

