Skip to content

How can it be the end of January already?

While January has been mighty quiet here on the blog, in the real world it’s been spectacularly busy.  Wishing for a better balance, but I know not to make any promises.

Sewing on location. ANY location.

The last two weekends have been non-stop stitching and paid big rewards. First was retreat weekend. I got all the rest of the half-square triangles done for two king value quilts (that would be over 900 HSTs and 1800 fabrics – whew!!).

I also made good progress on a Katie Jump Rope picnic quilt. I’m down to piecing scraps for the last 10 blocks, and it will be ready to assemble. It’s the first time I’ve had to start by cutting the side setting triangles to make sure I had enough fabric, but it looks like I’ll be able to pull it off.

My sad, saggy design wall is getting a workout. It’s 72×84 and not nearly big enough right now ~ this one will be 90×90 when finished. I really need to get the batting off the wall and replace it with flannel, too.

Between open sew at Island Quilter last Friday night, and a Seattle Modern Quilt Guild sew-in on Saturday at QuiltWorks NW, I finished making all the 4-square blocks for the first value quilt. Thank goodness Katie hosts the open sewing at Island Quilter and was there on Friday to coach me through the layout. With so many medium values in the pile, it made things a little trickier. Or maybe easier, as the layouts I had planned were much more complicated.

Friday night I even got a fuzzy shot of it with True Blue hanging in the Seattle MQG Binary Challenge Show at Island Quilter. How cool is that?

After the sew-in on Saturday, I had to come home and fill the design wall with blocks. Just HAD to. (Insert another whine about not having a king-size design wall ~ THIS one will be 100″ x 110″. Madness.)

I DO have the best wallpaper, however.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. I’m onto my value quilt next week! Thinking the same layout.

    January 28, 2014
  2. Love the idea of having a design wall to try out the layout – would work great for me as I don’t have much floor space!
    Thank you for sharing 🙂

    January 28, 2014
    • It makes all the difference in the world for designing and staying organized during piecing. Mine is two sheets of foam insulation board taped together, so it’s not only “sticky”, it’s very pin-able. We fastened it to the wall with long screws and big washers. I used batting because I had plenty of it, but it does sag over time. Definitely replacing it with flannel soon.

      I actually had to destash and removing shelving to make room, but it was SO worth it.

      January 28, 2014
  3. Tamie #

    Love, love your value quilt. Makes me want to head upstairs right now.

    January 28, 2014

Leave a Reply

