Skip to content

Hexagon madness

I’m not joking when I complain that having an longarm can be a curse. After all, there’s no automatic limit to the size of my quilts, no reason to stop at a throw size because a queen is too big for me to wrestle on my domestic machine.

So earlier this year when I took the machine-pieced hexagon class with Jacquie Gering and Katie Pedersen at Island Quilter, I dove right in and cut hundreds of hexagons. Easily twice what Jacquie asked us to cut. Because hey! I have a longarm, right??

Don’t get me wrong – it’s not hard, it’s just fiddly. If I ever think twice about my next machine NOT having auto-backstitch and thread cutting, shoot me where I stand. My faithful and fully-loaded Babylock is keeping me sane right now.

Katie suggested sewing one or two columns each week, rather than trying to sit down and do it all. So that’s the plan, once all the columns are pieced (it’s half done now, and getting much easier). Despite the early angst, I’m really loving this quilt. But the next one might be a baby quilt.

****If you’re local to the Pacific Northwest, keep an eye on Katie’s blog (link above) for the next Machine Stitched Hexagon Class.****

(Excuse the weird early morning lighting at the end ~ the first two are true colors.)

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Oh man I wish I’d seen her tutorial before I decided to hand piece mine…whoops! šŸ˜›

    October 22, 2013
  2. Love, love, love all your hexagons! I have no longarm and that doesn’t seem to stop me. šŸ™‚ One day I want to make a hexagon quilt. But I keep looking at the pile of unquilted tops.

    October 22, 2013

Leave a Reply

