Skip to content

Double Trouble ~ no trouble at all!

Mine, Katie’s & Joan’s in the afternoon sunshine

You won’t hang out here for long without noticing I have a mad passion for scrap quilts. Sometimes it means just that (like the Scrappy Trip Around the World or Scrappy Irish Chain), made from the leftover strips and squares of other projects.  Other times it’s not technically scrappy, just full of as many different fabrics as I can squeeze in (like Kaleidoscope).  I call them “plenty” quilts (it’s an inside joke), and they make me ridiculously happy. Never ask me to edit a stack of fabric for you ~ I’ll always add more.

I love Katie’s Double Trouble technique. I’ve watched her work on the process at sew-ins, girls weekends, and on her blog. I even spent one precious afternoon quilting a Double Trouble quilt of hers. It was mesmerizing to study up close and personal, so full of little jewels of color and design.  It was just a matter of time before I took the class.

Double Trouble

Sunday was the perfect day to be inside quilting with friends (new and old). With Katie to guide us,  Joan, Rebecca, Margaret and I  got to enjoy the view of a very wet Ballard farmers market, delicious food and produce just outside the door, and even some late afternoon sunshine flooding in the windows, all from the comfort of the Drygoods Design studio.

Rebecca

Clearly these were just the ingredients needed for a productive and creative day. Margaret’s was especially fun since she chose low volume prints for her background:

Margaret’s Double Trouble

I suppose this one is technically somewhere between scrappy and plenty. I started with 6″ squares from the mad summer swap, and then added scraps for the stitch & flip. I knew I wanted to control the colors a little, so I went with a warm/cool contrast. Many of the orange scraps came from Katie and my classmates, which makes it even better.

I had just a few blocks up on the board when I realized this quilt already had a home. It’s so energizing when that happens. Of course, that means Instead of a baby quilt (which I probably wouldn’t have stopped at anyway), this one will need to be a twin. So I’ll get to enjoy it on the wall for a while. Works for me!!

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Margaret Hayes-Thombre #

    I had so much fun meeting you after following your blog for so long Sandie, and sewing with all of you last Sunday. So inspiring!

    September 24, 2013
    • Wasn’t it a great class? It was such a pleasure to meet you ~ hopefully we’ll get to play again soon!

      September 25, 2013
  2. i love all these quilts so much! someday, when i don’t have a gazillion other obligations and things to do, i’ll try this technique.

    September 24, 2013
    • You have a great excuse. I, on the other hand, had no business starting another project with so many in the queue. I’m such a rebel. 😉

      September 25, 2013
  3. That sounds like a fun class! Your quilts look adorable.

    September 26, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Double Trouble Progress | Sleepy Owl Studio

Leave a Reply

