Skip to content

Fleeting, but sanity none the less

I have my moments. Moments when I come to my senses and realize the path I’m headed down probably leads off a cliff.

Liberty Tana Lawn. Scenic path, really big cliff.

It’s so pretty. It’s so soft. It’s SO (understandably) expensive that it’s place in the quilting world is generally limited to small pieces.

My collection is small, but slowly growing. Mostly 1/4 yards, plus a few remnants. Enough that I started to think about quilt designs.

And then it hit me what a ridiculous idea this is.

Quilting with leftover scraps and snippets? Okay.

But cutting up yardage?

Nope ~ this stuff is for wearing!

Here’s where fleeting made for the door. I had this brilliant plan to make an infinity (or figure 8) scarf from what I have.  I wear scarves all year (the AC in the office has us chillin’ most of the time) and I could do it without cutting up much of the fabric.

See? Such a great idea for using my precious stash, in fact, that I bought a fabric pack instead. Oops.

From Alice Caroline Supply on Etsy

All the pieces in this bundle are 9 x 13″. I cut them down to 9 x 10.5″, and used 14 of the prints.

I sewed 7 rectangles together, matching the 9″ ends. After repeating for the 2nd side, and pressing all the seams open, I sewed both together along the long sides.

I also pressed the long seam allowances open.

I continued with the instructions for seaming the ends together.

The finished scarf is 8.5″ wide and 70″ long. I’m thrilled with how it came out and there was even a bonus in the project:

More scraps to add to my stash!

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Cassandra #

    That scarf is just gorgeous!! Love the scrap bonus 🙂

    July 7, 2013
  2. Congratulations your scarf is beautiful! No doubt you will love wearing it! Thanks for sharing.

    July 8, 2013

Leave a Reply

