Skip to content

Kaleidoscope

By far the biggest project on my list is our Kaleidoscope quilt.  It’s 96″ x 120″. I’ve completely lost track of how many yards of fabric are in it. I remember looking at the huge stack I was about to cut into last November and thinking I’d overbought. Again.

I remember even better scrounging through the scrap bin to find the few pieces left to cut for one last column of blocks, and finally resorting to buying more.

I collected fabric for months, and then took it with me to retreat. It was a great place to start a huge project from scratch, and I came home feeling satisfied with the progress. Of course, it took weeks to get back to it, and months to finally finish the piecing.

And last week I quilted it. Great idea since a) it’s really too big for my machine (not so much in width as in the depth of the HQ16 throat with a king-size quilt on the rollers),  b) after a couple really nasty, wet days the thermometer was climbing into the stratosphere,  taking the humidity to hellish, making the job even more difficult and c) given it’s enormous size the binding would probably not be the perfect handwork project for a weekend rod run in even hotter weather than home.

Somewhere in the hot, damp haze of Thursday night, I gave up the idea of getting binding on it before the weekend trip and settled for having it quilted. (I do have my moments of sanity.)

Does the finished quilt have issues? A few.

Does it fit my original vision? Close enough.

Do I love it? Yep, I do.

Even with 36′ of hand stitched binding staring me down. I think I’ll wait for my world to cool a bit before I tackle it.

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. Is it stunningly beautiful? yep.

    July 1, 2013
  2. Just beautiful!

    July 1, 2013
  3. Wow, it’s gorgeous! I love the quilting you did on it! Was it freehand? I agree – a very big quilt for the HQ16. I just finished quilting a 100″x88″ on mine and it was quite the job!

    July 1, 2013
    • Thank you! I used a pattern board set from R&S Designs. The panto is designed by Patricia Ritter. Diamonds are Forever.

      July 1, 2013
  4. It’s gorgeous!! -Jamie

    July 1, 2013
  5. Tamie #

    This quilt is lovely. I’d do the binding for you to spend some time with your quilt although it is hot and humid here too. Yuk.

    July 1, 2013
  6. Paula #

    Congratulations on the big finish Sandie! It’s beautiful!

    July 3, 2013
  7. It looks incredible!

    July 4, 2013
  8. Margaret Hayes-Thombre #

    I love this quilt, and really enjoy seeing all your beautiful work on your blog!

    July 4, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Double Trouble ~ no trouble at all! | Sleepy Owl Studio

Leave a Reply

