Skip to content

Ocean Waves

This one has been on my list for ages. I love it in all it’s variations.

Several weeks ago, I spent a Saturday at Island Quilter with Katie and a great group of quilters that had come for her HST class. One had a copy of the latest Denyse Schmidt book, and Katie suggested we give the Ocean Waves pattern a try.

From home, I had pulled several red and aqua prints with no plan on what I would be making. I also had a bolt of Kona Snow stashed in the trunk of my car (doesn’t everybody?), so I was set. A little re-calculating and I had a block size I could live with (10″ instead of 6″).

I started with the reds, and got about this far during the afternoon:

I finished a few more blocks before Quiltcon, and I even thought at this point I might have a plan (this isn’t it):

It spent several weeks on the wall, and then into a project box while I kept making blocks. 48 blocks, with 12 HST in each.

Which I’m guessing means about 50% of the time in this quilt is trimming squares. Nearly 600 of them.

Yesterday I sewed and pressed the squares for the last 15 blocks. I also cleared the design board of other projects, and put this one back up. I’m betting it’ll go pretty quickly from now on.

I’m anxious to get it finished, especially since I have the backing fabric. This lovely Notting Hill Pristine Poppy from Joel Dewberry is perfect!

I’m already planning the next one. I do think it will be scrappy. Might need more Kona Snow……..

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Jenny M #

    Love the colours you have used & the layout of your blocks.

    June 12, 2013
  2. Paula #

    It’s turning out fabulous! Nice to see you working on it again!

    June 13, 2013
  3. Yolande #

    What was the size of each square? 2.5″ finished?
    It’s stunning!

    June 17, 2013
    • Yes. I started with 3.5″ squares and then trimmed the HSTs down to 3″. Thank you!

      June 18, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Working through the list | Sleepy Owl Studio

Leave a Reply

