Skip to content

Keeping it simple

I was scrolling through photos to write this post, and discovered I never took any of this little quilt.

I made it last fall on a mini retreat weekend at Noelle’s. I’m not completely surprised I didn’t share – it was also the weekend we made the crazy 9-patch blocks that ended up as one of Katie’s quilts, and Jon’s quilt.

Disappearing Nine Patch is nearly as simple as it gets, and yet they have a snowflake quality to them ~ I doubt I’ve ever seen two alike.

This is my 3rd quilt with the original DS Collection Picnic and Fairgrounds fabrics (from Joann’s). I collected every print, including the ones only available in Australia, so I have a tiny bit of sadness at seeing some of it down to scraps. Even if it’s for a great cause.

It’ll be this year’s auction quilt. But first it has to grow. A lot. Like more than double. And I’m getting there. A couple more rows at the bottom, and maybe one less on the side and it’ll be close to the 60’x80″ quilt I want. Then on the frame ~ I think a ribbon meander will be just the right touch.

Fingers-crossed it makes good money for a great cause!

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. I think it is fresh and lovely! xo

    April 23, 2013
  2. I’m not quite the same caliber of fabric collector as you or Katie but I do love these prints! Is this a school auction quilt?

    April 23, 2013
    • lol ~ I’m not sure being the “caliber” of Katie and I is a good thing. Especially this week!

      It is for a school auction. ❤

      April 25, 2013

Leave a Reply

