Skip to content

Another day, another scrap quilt

Two sort-of finishes this week, and they couldn’t be more different. The first is this crazy, scrappy Irish Chain:

I started the blocks at retreat in January, but I was late ordering the red for the alternating blocks and didn’t have it with me. I tried, and failed, to make it work with a teal dot. Kona Lipstick was the only thing that would do. I’m so happy with how it came out.

Last Friday I picked up a beautiful Robert Kaufman flannel from Island Quilter for the back (among other things), and I have a plan for the quilting (new pattern boards make me happy!)

Even so, it’ll have to wait a little longer to be really finished. There’s a major pile ahead of it.

One less in the pile today, though. Tumbler is quilted and off the frame.

Still having a debate about whether to square the edges or just do a single binding and leave blocks intact. A little more work, but a lot more fun. So I guess there’s really no debate at all…….

The other thing happening in the studio the past couple weeks is a MAJOR reorganization of the sewing room. I’m not ready for the great unveiling yet, but how about a little sneak peek?

All my fabric is in one place. ALL MY FABRIC IS IN ONE PLACE! I could die of happiness now.

I’m such a organization geek.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Will you come and organize all my fabric? And yarn?

    February 6, 2013
  2. hey if putting things in order makes you that happy, you are welcome to stop by my sewing room anytime! šŸ™‚ your quilt looks fabulous, definately worth waiting for the right fabric to finish it

    February 6, 2013
  3. I adore your scrappy irish chain! Yes, leave the tumbler edges. šŸ™‚ And I can’t wait to see your organized studio.

    February 7, 2013
  4. Wonderful! If my fabric was in the same room I might not get anything done. Of course, that is what is happening now…

    February 7, 2013

Leave a Reply

