Skip to content

For my Mister

Jon pokes fun at me on occasion because he doesn’t have a quilt of “his own”. Granted, there’s no shortage of quilts in the house, but none were made just for him. It’s an easy point to score.

But that’s about to change.

In October Noelle, Katie, Meaghan and I had a “mini-retreat” at Noelle’s cabin. It was heavenly.

One of the projects Katie was plotting was a wonky 9-patch with a little twist: some of the squares were strip-pieced before they went into the stack (for whacking). No way was I going to miss out on a chance to dig through her strip scraps and help build a few blocks to play with, especially since Noelle also let us dig through her gorgeous shot cottons and steal a bit of black Carolina Chambray (sigh).

It took a couple tries, and a lot of laughing, to get the process down perfectly. I’m not saying the problem had anything to do with Katie not reading the directions all the way through, but occasionally being an improv queen can really bite someone in the butt. Or maybe it was the cocktails.

When we left, I was very happy to take a set of blocks with me.

They immediately went up on the design wall, and I added a few more solids that I thought would work with future block sets. Fast forward through Madie projects, holiday sewing, Scrappy Trip Around the World (and Around the Block), and Kaleidoscope. Along the way there were some ideas percolating, and I added RK Essex Linen in Black to the mix.

I finished the other two block sets last week, and brought the stack with me to retreat this weekend to assemble.

It’s a little hard to tell in the photo above, but the borders are asymmetrical. I have the perfect (new) pattern board, so I added more “open” space to highlight it. The backing fabric is on order, so once it arrives I’ll make quick work of it. And he’ll have to find something else to tease me about.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. I like this a lot. Great setting idea. I like contrast, and this quilt has it both within the blocks and against the gray. So cool!

    January 22, 2013
  2. No wonder you are in love with this, it looks bright and cheerful and, yes, even “modern!”

    January 25, 2013
    • There you are – stirring up a little controversy! ❤

      January 25, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Retreat Wrap-up | Sleepy Owl Studio

Leave a Reply

