Skip to content

Whimsy

Jon and I were driving home early Sunday afternoon and an idea got stuck in my head. Not unusual (it’s cluttered in there), but I couldn’t let it go. Once the laundry was going and the produce sorted and the picking up done, I shut myself in the sewing room.

It started with 1″ x 7″ strips (72 of them), then stitching and cutting and stitching again.

I can honestly say these took about the same amount of time as the original blocks. But it was worth it. Twelve itty-bitty blocks later, and my precious mid-century modern Mattel bed has a real quilt. Even better, it’s a Scrappy Trip Around the World quilt.

It’s 9″x12″ and it makes me smile every time I look at it, although “Scrappy Trip Around the Block” seems like a more appropriate name.

Add a little whimsy to your day ~ I promise it helps!!

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. Mary Lou #

    Love it! 1/2 finished squares, you are crazy, but the results are worth it. Mary Lou

    January 15, 2013
  2. that is amazing! yowza!

    January 15, 2013
  3. That is FABULOUS!!! What a fun thing, so bright and cheerful and tiny, too!

    šŸ™‚

    January 15, 2013
  4. Linda Fieldhouse #

    Sandie,

    Both quilts are absolutely gorgeous!

    Have a great day.

    Linda

    January 15, 2013
  5. Ya know, I’m kinda tired of the whole “Trip Around the World” thing because EVERONE is doing it, I can’t read a blog these days without it being mentioned but your micro mini is frickin’ ADORABLE!!

    January 16, 2013
  6. Laurel #

    Oh my goodness, what a sweet tiny project. I’m going “round the world”, too—all of these scrappy quilts are irresistible. On your “grande” version, did you use the “tube” method, and the rip seams? I think that’s what I’ll do—seems most efficient. Maybe I’ll get it cut, and make it to a make*do*mend session.

    January 16, 2013
    • Thank you, Laurel. I did use the tube method (actually on both quilts if you can imagine). It was incredibly fast and easy. I did the first couple blocks, and then went into assembly line mode (or as my daughter says “sweatshop mode”).

      It was wonderful to see you on Monday ~ and I’m planning to make as many studio nights as I can so hopefully I’ll see you there soon. ā¤

      January 18, 2013
  7. I love it! I may have to make one for my daughter’s dolls, although she is still too little to play with them yet. šŸ™‚

    January 18, 2013
  8. Paula #

    I love this little quilt! It’s soo cool that you have such a perfect little bed for it too!

    January 20, 2013

Leave a Reply

