Skip to content

Feelin’ Scrappy?

I blame Megan. And Katy (of course).Ā  Yes, the stage was all set when they scrappy-tripped onto it, but still.

I don’t think my stash is completely out of control (denial), but I was already declaring 2013 “the year of the stash” when Megan’s photos popped up on Instagram and Flickr and I fell really hard for her version of the Scrappy Trip Around the World. It didn’t take me long to pull out my scrap basket and start cutting strips.

I had enough for 18 blocks when I finished with my scraps. Then I hit the stash shelves, pulling stacks of fabrics and cutting into the wee hours. Four days later, I have this:

It’s actually larger than this, but only 30 blocks fit on the design wall. 36 are finished, and I’m planning at least 6 more. Assuming I can stop then, which will be hard. I really love this quilt!

Part of me wants to make another right away, but I think the secret is the fabrics from my scrap basket. Fabrics I loved and used. Even the fabrics I pulled from the shelves were intentionally those that I’d already chosen for previous projects. I’d need another year’s worth of scraps to pull it off.

Color/value placement for the center diagonal (either a strong blue or a red/fuschia/orange) was the only thing I tried to control, and even that had exceptions. All that and I used nearly 10 yards of fabric just on the top.

I’ll need to adjust the final layout a bit, but I think my first finish of 2013 could end up being my favorite. And if you want to join in the scrappy fun, or just marvel at all the variations, be sure to check out the Flickr group Scrappy Trip Along.

Now go make something beautiful!

19 Comments Post a comment
  1. i love yours so much, sandie! and i especially love how you controlled the color in the center diagonal… that’s something that has been bugging me about mine. however, i’m too lazy to go back and change anything, so i’m trying now to embrace the quirkiness.

    January 3, 2013
    • Just pick up from where you are now. I’ve seen some that were VERY strongly framed, and I was trying to avoid that. I wanted a line my eye could follow across the craziness, but not all have the center diagonal. On a few I moved it over one row and it looks like it spirals a little, or I alternated darker prints with lighter and got a checkerboard effect.

      Yours are so pretty ~ keep at it! ā¤

      January 3, 2013
  2. pwessells #

    ok you have inspired me… need to finish this auction quilt, then I can play around with this!

    January 3, 2013
    • Yay, Paula!! You won’t be sorry, I promise!

      January 3, 2013
  3. mariajhmom #

    This is strange. I started cutting scraps for this same project on New Years Day. I made 4 blocks and have a bunch more cut. It is very fun!

    January 3, 2013
    • Isn’t it? I had a hard time stopping at 42 blocks!

      January 4, 2013
  4. Well I’ve dived in and joined the flickr group and I am so going to have a go at this, just have to finish quilting a quilt for my nephews 21st, which is on the 14th of January – eek!!!!
    I have got far too many fabrics that just ‘sit’ there doing nothing so i think this might make me break into some of them, not to mention using up loads of scraps šŸ™‚

    January 4, 2013
    • You’ll love how easily it burns through scraps ~ you just need 2.5″x16″ strips. I’ll look for updates after the 14th. šŸ˜‰

      January 4, 2013
  5. Beautiful! My daughter and I have been eyeing this one and thinking it will be an ongoing 2013 project for us. Your version is lovely and very happy to look at.

    January 4, 2013
    • I think she’d really enjoy working on this one ~ it’s great fun to sew!

      January 4, 2013
  6. That is beautiful! I love the subtle diagonal, at first glance you know something is controlled but it took a minute to see what it was!!

    January 4, 2013
    • Thank you ~ that’s what I was hoping for!

      January 4, 2013
  7. Those are amazing!!!

    January 4, 2013
  8. Those are absolutely amazing!!!!!!!!!!!

    January 4, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Feelin’ Scrappy? | Craft Hill Fabric Artisans
  2. Embracing a whole new year | Sleepy Owl Studio
  3. Retreat Wrap-up | Sleepy Owl Studio
  4. Scrappy Irish Chain | Sleepy Owl Studio
  5. Double Trouble ~ no trouble at all! | Sleepy Owl Studio

Leave a Reply

