Skip to content

Sew Mama Sew Giveaway Day

https://i1.wp.com/www.sewmamasew.com/blog2/miscimages/giveawayday2012.jpg

This is very possibly my favorite week to have a crafty blog ~ the Sew Mama Sew Giveaway Day. Besides new visitors here (which is ridiculously fun), there’s all the amazing blog links in one place!

It might not take long to figure out I love making bags. All kinds of bags, but these little guys are one of my favorites. It’s a mini-grocery bag, from a terrific pattern by Keyka Lou. All of Michelle’s patterns are adorable (I have several), but this one is fun and simple and useful.

I use mine nearly every day for kntting projects, as a lunch bag, or just to have in the bottom of my handbag for shopping.

So what am I giving away? Two little holiday bags. One to keep, and one to gift (if you can stand to part with it).

Leave me a comment. It can be anything, although I’d love it if you’d tell me what your favorite holiday song is. Mine is the Bing Crosby/David Bowie duet of  Little Drummer Boy and Peace on Earth from 1977.  I cry every time (which means nothing, actually – I’m the perfect Hallmark demographic).

On Friday, December 7th at 5pm PST, all comments will be closed and I’ll use a random number generator to pick a winner. International visitors are welcome to participate. Good luck, and have fun checking out all the great blogs ~ I know I will!

Closed for comments. I’ll pick a winner shortly. Thank you!

136 Comments
  1. these bags are so cute – I don’t think I’m nice enough to give one away 🙂 {maybe} I love Christmas songs! Some of my favorites are Rusty Chevrolet, Grandma Got Run over by a Reindeer, & You’re a Mean One Mr. Grinch, as well as all the lovely classic carols

    December 4, 2012
  2. Is that some yarn I spy peeking put there. I love the bags! Thanks for such a generous giveaway!

    December 4, 2012
  3. Cute bags, I make bags all the time for my facebook group gift exchanges….my fav Christmas song is your fav song, Little Drummer Boy by David Bowie and Bing Crosby

    December 4, 2012
  4. Jennifer G #

    Cute bags! They are very cheerful. My favorite Christmas song is Baby Its Cold Outside. Something about duets makes me happy. Thanks for the giveaway.

    December 4, 2012
  5. Ooh! So pretty!

    My fav song is Judy Garland singing Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas in Meet Me In St. Louis!
    Genevieve

    December 4, 2012
  6. At the moment I’m enjoying Jingle Bells sung by my 4 year old daughter. 🙂
    *waving from Australia*
    Cass

    December 4, 2012
  7. Paula #

    Senor Santa Claus by Jim Reeves … it’s on a 1960s record that we always listened to while decorating the Christmas tree … obscure and a little cheesy, but it brings back memories! Thanks Sandie!

    December 4, 2012
  8. jessicac #

    Still love Mele Kalikimaka … Bing Crosby, and I live where its warm!

    December 4, 2012
  9. My favorite fun Christmas song is Sleigh Ride done by the Boston Pops Orchestra. I just love the tuba part. My all time favorite is the Hallelujah Chorus…when it’s done well!!!

    December 4, 2012
  10. Kay Lemieux #

    My favourite holiday song is… wow I don’t know. I love so many. Bing and Bowie is great, I smile every time I hear Frosty the Snowman because when my daughter was little she sang it so cute. I really enjoy the twelve days of Christmas and for some odd reason I like Santa Baby LOL.

    Thanks for the chance to win.

    Kay

    December 4, 2012
  11. Melissa Palmer #

    I love anything from Michael Buble’s Christmas album, and also Straight No Chaser is hilarious! Thanks for the chance! mjp0419 at gmail dot com

    December 4, 2012
  12. Marilize #

    Those bags are gorgeous. I love the blue and red combo.

    My favourite holiday song is “Rudolf the red-nosed reigndeer”. Cheesy, I know, but it makes me smile every time I hear / sing it 🙂

    December 4, 2012
  13. Eva #

    These bags are so sweet, I love the fabric you’ve used! My favourite holiday is Fairytale of New York by the pogues!

    December 5, 2012
  14. Sasha #

    I love hearing the Carol of the Bells. The first time i went to the cinema on my own I had just turned 10 and it was to see Home Alone, so I have a huge soft spot for it!

    December 5, 2012
  15. hueisei #

    Mine is Frank Sinatra’s Silent Night

    December 5, 2012
  16. As long as Michael Buble is singing the Christmas Song, it’s my favourite. Thanks for the chance to win 🙂

    December 5, 2012
  17. The Pogues- Fairytale in New York! Love love love it, I’m a sucker for the Pogues anyway, but the words to the song get me every time.
    Thanks for a great giveaway.

    December 5, 2012
  18. I really love the bag, hope I can win. thank you for the giveaway 🙂

    December 5, 2012
  19. Your bags are gorgeous! Thanks for a chance to enter your awesome Giveaway! My favorite holiday song is Let it Snow! (the weather outside is frightful..but the fire is so delightful…)

    December 5, 2012
  20. Tara #

    These are beautiful bags 🙂 I love Michelle’s Patterns. I really like any fun, upbeat Christmas song – I’m not picky!

    December 5, 2012
  21. Bing Crosby – Melekalikimaka ~ one day I’m going to spend christmas in Hawaii and play that all day long 🙂

    Love these bags and so nice of you to give us 2! It is funny because I saw it and thought ooo my mom would love that and oooo I love it too, so that is PERFECT 🙂

    Thanks for the giveaway opportunity!

    December 5, 2012
  22. Erin S #

    These are adorable! I love the fabric you picked!

    Thanks so much for hosting this giveaway!

    December 5, 2012
  23. I love Carol of the Bells…by any boys choir…it’s really awesome. Thanks for a chance to win.

    December 5, 2012
  24. Laura #

    These bags are adorable! My favorite holiday song is O Holy Night!

    December 5, 2012
  25. Liz #

    I want a hippopotamus for Christmas! It makes me smile EVERY time.
    Happy Holidays and thanks for the giveaway!

    December 5, 2012
  26. cute bags!
    my fav song is Hallelujah. I melt every time I hear it.

    December 5, 2012
  27. I love these bags, they are super cute. My favorite holiday song is Angels We Have Heard On High.

    December 5, 2012
  28. Kay #

    The bags are just lovely, thank you for sharing. My favourite all time christmas song is any version of Silent Night because I think it is beautiful.

    December 5, 2012
  29. natali #

    Love the bag, could really use one, things are getting out of hand here with my crafting supplies :). Hmm, I have no favorite, but really enjoy the cd ‘A very She and Him Christmas’. Loved her in Elf too, which is one of my favorite Christmas movies.

    December 5, 2012
  30. Love the bags. What a nice way to gift to us and a friend. I love
    the song” DO you see what I see” Merry Christmas!

    December 5, 2012
  31. Love the bags!! My favorite Christmas song is Sleigh Ride — reminds me of high school choir!!

    December 5, 2012
  32. Gill #

    Gorgeous bags!
    I like ‘The Snowman’ by Raymond Briggs!

    December 5, 2012
  33. Joy #

    Mary did you know

    December 5, 2012
  34. These are SO CUTE! My favorite Christmas song is Silver Bells! jinglesells at gmail dot com

    December 5, 2012
  35. I love all of the classic Christmas hymns!

    December 5, 2012
  36. Becky N,. #

    My favorite song is Winter Wonderland!
    And, your bags are ADORABLE!

    December 5, 2012
  37. Very cute and they look so handy for many things. I would have to say that my favorite song is Silent Night.

    December 5, 2012
  38. Monica #

    Cute bags! My favorite Christmas song is and will always be Bing Crosby’s “White Christmas.”

    December 5, 2012
  39. Joanna-Gloria #

    Gorgeous bags!
    It’d be such a fantastic gift to my sis -the one of them of course, because I’d definitely keep one!!
    Favorite song: “Have yourself a merry little Christmas”, with Judy Garland

    December 5, 2012
  40. DESPINA #

    I love “White Christmas” most of all the holiday themed songs
    These are absolutely gorgeous, thank you!!

    December 5, 2012
  41. Beth Tays #

    HI Sandie—You always have the best bags, and quilts, with all of the new fabric’s. Can’t wait to see you in Jan., at retreat.
    Beth

    December 5, 2012
  42. Kate #

    I really like O Little Town of Bethlehem!

    December 5, 2012
  43. The Wexford Carol. It’s not very well known, but I love it.

    December 5, 2012
  44. Your bags are so pretty! I like to hear “What Child is This?”. 🙂

    December 5, 2012
  45. Eileen #

    Little Drummer Boy is a good one! I’d
    have to say Christmas Wrapping by the
    Waitress’s or Winter Wonderland–the
    Steve and Eydie version rocks!! I’d also
    like to give you a shout out. I found your
    blog by chance and absolutely love it!!
    My fav part is your Friday Favorites!! From
    that I made the butterfly pillow and
    Summer Leaves–but called mine Autum 🙂
    I even gave your address to the girls in my
    small quilt group–Gainesville Modern
    Quilters. If you check it out you can see a
    Pic of my copy of Summer Leaves…so
    thanks so much for inspiring me to quilt
    More!!! Happy Holidays 🙂

    December 5, 2012
  46. I love Snoopy’s Christmas

    December 5, 2012
  47. Gigi #

    Have yourself a merry little christmas. Brings tears to my eyes everytime. Don’t know why…

    Love the bags! I love making bags too and I think I’ll check out this pattern. Seems easy enough to make and give as christmas gifts.

    December 5, 2012
  48. Lovely bags, perfect for my knitting and sewing supplies. My sewing room is upstairs, but I prefer to work downstairs in the livingroom. So I am constantly walking up and down with arms full of stuff. Do you imagine????? My favorite song is: de herdertjes lagen bij nachte, it’s a Dutch song. i am Dutch and live in France.

    December 5, 2012
  49. All I Want for Christmas is You!

    December 5, 2012
  50. Oh my .. Favorite Christmas Song ? – Either Silver Bells, or Little Drummer Boy – However we tend to listen to In Dulci Jubilo.

    December 5, 2012
  51. Carol of the Bells, especially when the TSO does it!

    December 5, 2012
  52. Sue #

    Wow! I love those bags! I have used Michelle’s patterns and love them all. Fave Christmas song? I really like Carol of the Bells by David Foster. Great version.

    December 5, 2012
  53. Super lucky someone is gonna win these sweet sacs!! I’m listening to our custom world music Christmas CD that we made as our Christmas card about 11 years ago. I love everything on it, but Sting singing I Saw Three Ships is pretty sweet.

    December 5, 2012
  54. Amy #

    I love Christmas music and start playing it right after Halloween!! I am loving Josh Groban right now. Thanks for the giveaway! Amy @ gasudimack(at)sbcglobal(dot)net

    December 5, 2012
  55. Theresa #

    Those are so cute! I love Joy to the World

    December 5, 2012
  56. Your bags are gorgeous! Thank you for the chance! As for holiday songs, I love Silent Night.
    ap_lemos at yahoo dot com

    December 5, 2012
  57. Joy To The World!

    Deborah
    pinkscissorsdesign @gmail .com

    December 5, 2012
  58. Tanya #

    The Pogues fairytale in new York – makes me cry every time x

    December 5, 2012
  59. Mandy #

    Oh Holy Night!

    December 5, 2012
  60. Great. Another project on my to do list. Why do you always this to me? My Favorite Holiday song? Hmmmmmm, there are so many. The Christmas Shoes. Hard Candy Christmas, Silent Night. To name just a few. Happy Holidays. I’m off to check out all the other great sites.

    December 5, 2012
  61. I like The Pogues’ Fairy Tale in New York. Thanks for the chance!

    December 5, 2012
  62. I love a good bag! My favorite is all of them!!! lol

    December 5, 2012
  63. Fav song… hmmmmm, I guess you can’t go past Silent night

    December 5, 2012
  64. I would love these bags!! And not sure if I could part with one. 🙂 Not exactly traditional but I’m really enjoying the holiday songs by Straight No Chaser. Lol

    December 5, 2012
  65. Cute bags!

    I don’t have a favorite song.. but I do enjoy listening to the Trans Siberian Orchestra. 😀

    December 5, 2012
  66. Trans syberian orchestra I doubt I spelled that right. I love their music and would love to hear them live.

    December 5, 2012
  67. Adorable bags! I’m a whimp ~ they all make me cry!

    December 5, 2012
  68. Lori Mahar #

    Cute bags. My favorite holiday song is Oh Holy Night.

    December 5, 2012
  69. Gorgeous bags – fingers crossed here 🙂 I love the same somg as you – it is amazing.

    December 5, 2012
  70. barbara woods #

    i love little drummer boy too thanks for the chance

    December 5, 2012
  71. Victoria #

    I love dancing around to the soundtrack to Love, Actually but my very favorite Christmas song is Oh, Come, Emmanuel.
    Darling bags, I love those Keyka Lou patterns.

    December 5, 2012
  72. I have two favorites: Silver Bells, which reminds me of my dad. And, Little Drummer Boy. Of course, not every rendition is a good one, at least to my ears. Thanks for a chance to win those awesome bags! Merry Christmas 🙂

    December 5, 2012
  73. I’ve been meaning to buy this pattern, but I’d love it even more to win a ready made little bag 🙂 I have two favorite Christmas songs…1) Snoopy vs. The Red Baron [we had this as a record when I was a child] 2) God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen as sung by Sarah MacLachlan and Bare Naked Ladies

    December 5, 2012
  74. I love all the classics sung by artists like Frank Sinatra, Judy Garland etc. Nobody sings like that anymore!

    December 5, 2012
  75. Rebecca T #

    I love the classic Baby It’s Cold Outside… *sigh*

    Your bags are awesome, btw!

    December 5, 2012
  76. Super cute bags! My favorite is Hark the Herald Angel :).

    December 5, 2012
  77. Maria #

    I love the bags! My favorite is “O Little Town of Bethlehem.”

    December 5, 2012
  78. My favorite holiday song is Silent Night. Thanks for the awesome giveaway! Happy Holidays to You! 🙂

    December 5, 2012
  79. leigh7911 #

    These are adorable!! My favorite Christmas song is “Strange Way to Save the World” by 4Him. Sigh.

    December 5, 2012
  80. Ellen M. #

    Great idea to use these as gift bags (if we can part with them!) I love “Oh, Holy Night”. Very traditional. Very Christmas. Thanks for the chance!

    December 5, 2012
  81. I love Oh Holy Night by Josh Groban but I love Breathe of Heaven too.

    December 5, 2012
  82. Oh me and my bestie would love these bags! And my favourite song is Baby it’s cold outside by Tom Jones and Cerys Matthews. Thanks for hosting!

    December 5, 2012
  83. My favourite song is Joy to the world by Michael Bolton. Thank you and congrats on you pretty work!

    December 5, 2012
  84. Leo #

    Maria durch ein Dornwald ging – is my favourite .. such a sad melody and not so bright and cheery as the rest. I don’t know if there is an English version.

    December 6, 2012
  85. wordygirl #

    My favorite Christmas song is most any version of Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas. To me it has the tenderness, nostalgia, even melancholy of the holidays, along with the determination to have a merry little Christmas no matter whom you’re missing; I didn’t get it so much when I was a kid, but now I surely do.

    December 6, 2012
  86. very cute handbag . I right now imagine me walk with this bag for shopping.

    December 6, 2012
  87. Cara #

    I love the bags! I always am looking for more with my knitting projects.

    As for favorite Christmas song, I’m going to go with “Silent Night” just because it has the best memories associated with it.

    December 6, 2012
  88. Oh that fabric is too cute. I love “Deck the Halls”
    Thanks for the chance to win.

    December 6, 2012
  89. Delia Jones #

    I love Christmas music, so it will be hard to narrow it down to just one. http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=o_b-woAaK1s. This version of the Magnificat is one of my favorites!

    December 6, 2012
  90. Danijela #

    Love it,bags are amazing!!and we could have two wow!!!Perfect for mother and daughter =o).My fav is Silent Night.Lovely giveaway,thanks for the chance to win it.

    December 6, 2012
  91. Laurie K-G #

    My Favorite Christmas song is I Saw Three Ships. I love the combo of rich red and robin’s egg blue on these two bags!

    December 6, 2012
  92. Bonnie Larson #

    Gorgeous bags. Love the colours. The first Noel always tears me up. Thanks for the opportunity on the draw and Merry Christmas to you
    bonnielarson58(at)gmail(dot)com

    December 6, 2012
  93. This is my favorite bag pattern, too! Of course I give away all the bags I made so I would love one for myself. My favorite holiday song is O Holy Night by Josh Groban–gives me goose bumps every time I hear it!

    December 6, 2012
  94. lynn #

    i love love love joni mitchell’s river. and i love your bags too=generous!

    December 6, 2012
  95. craftgirl83 #

    As of right now, that duet is my favorite too. I didn’t know it existed but it’s brilliant! Look at how young David looks!

    December 6, 2012
  96. Jacklynn A Grimm #

    My favorite Christmas song is “River” by Joni Mitchell, because sometimes you just want to get away – and I used to love to ice skate when I was a kid, but I don’t have the ankles for it anymore. James Taylor does an awesome version of it, too. Thanks for the give away!

    December 6, 2012
  97. I have 2 nontraditional favorites: I want a Hippopotamus for Christmas and Santa’s coming in a Whirly bird

    December 6, 2012
  98. I love The Christmas Waltz as sung by Peggy Lee.

    December 6, 2012
  99. Deb #

    Cute bags! My favorite carol is Do You Hear What I Hear. Thanks for a great giveaway~!

    December 6, 2012
  100. Beth #

    I really love O Come All Ye Faithful and All I Want For Christmas Is You. So one traditional one and one rather new one!

    December 6, 2012
  101. Rose #

    I also love the version of Little Drummer Boy/Peace on Earth by Bing Crosby and David Bowie. I tear up every time I hear it because it reminds me of my Father who is no longer with us. Your bags are gorgeous. Thank you.

    December 6, 2012
  102. Jordan #

    My favorite Christmas song is Oh Holy Night! Cute bags!

    December 6, 2012
  103. What gorgeous bags. I love White Christmas. Thanks for the lovely giveaway.

    December 6, 2012
  104. cnuland #

    I love that song too, but I think my favorite is Carol of the Bells

    December 6, 2012
  105. My favourite must be White Christmas. Terrific giveaway, thanks for the chance to win!

    December 6, 2012
  106. Maureen #

    Interesting bags. Angels we have heard on high is a favorite.

    December 6, 2012
  107. Tamie #

    One of my favorite holiday songs is Mary, Did You Know? Great bags.

    December 6, 2012
  108. My favorite Christmas song is Fairytale of New York by the Pogues with Kirsty MacColl. Best Christmas song ever! Thanks for the giveaway.

    December 6, 2012
  109. Heather #

    I don’t know if I could pick just one song! I love Silent Night, Little Drummer Boy, White Christmas…

    December 6, 2012
  110. julia #

    mine is o holy night!

    December 6, 2012
  111. Grandma got run over by a reindeer, reminds me of child hood visit to the grandparents.

    December 6, 2012
  112. Such pretty bags! My favorite song is O Holy Night!

    December 6, 2012
  113. fern #

    my favourite song is definitely carol of the bells. makes me happy every time I hear it!

    December 6, 2012
  114. jmniffer #

    These bags are wonderful; perfectly sized for many different uses. I like O Holy Night. Thanks for the chance.

    December 6, 2012
  115. Laura #

    Your bags are adorable! My favorite song…:When a Child Is Born”. Thank you for hosting this giveaway!

    God bless,
    Laura

    December 6, 2012
  116. katie #

    Great bags. I will gift one to my sister if I win. I like your containers for scraps (in the background of your picture)! I especially love the andrea buchelli (???sp) christmas album.

    December 6, 2012
  117. I love this! And my favorite is Do You Hear What I Hear.
    peachstateme(at)hotmail(dot)com

    December 6, 2012
  118. I’d like to sew more bags myself! I love all the classic Christmas Carols myself: O Come All Ye Faithful, O Little Start of Bethlehem, O Holy Night… All the “O” carols, I guess!

    December 6, 2012
  119. That’s one of my favorites, too! I remember seeing it on television when it come on when I was a teenager. I found it a few years ago on YouTube and was so excited I could watch it again!
    Thanks for the chance.

    December 6, 2012
  120. Great bags – thank you for the chance! My favourite Christmas song is Santa Baby by Eartha Kitt 😀

    December 6, 2012
  121. Mary Lou #

    I think picking a favorite Christmas song is like picking a favorite fabric (impossible), spiritual, fun, winter, happy, emotional…so, I guess Winter Wonderland. Mom used to sing that to me all the time, when I was a baby, I have a January birthday, so it really is a winter song.

    December 6, 2012
  122. I like the Little Drummer Boy a lot, too, but I know all the verses to Silent Night.
    freesignge (At) gmail COM

    December 6, 2012
  123. My favorite is Mary Did You Know? I love Keyka Lou patterns too. I have a bunch and have made most of them. I have this one and haven’t made it yet. I would love to win some!!

    December 6, 2012
  124. i really like thoe bags. The colors fo the fabric is very catchy.

    conn_and_vans_mom(at)yahoo(dot)com

    December 6, 2012
  125. Really sweet bags. I confess to The Little Drummer Boy making me cry every time I hear it since I was a wee little girle. Cheers, Karen

    December 7, 2012
  126. My fav is “And the Angels Cried”- it is beautiful! Thank you for the giveaway!

    December 7, 2012
  127. Prachi #

    “Let it snow” is my favorite. The bags are cute. Thanks for the chance !

    December 7, 2012
  128. Oh my cuteness! My fav song right now is Buble’s All I want for Christmas! Thanks

    December 7, 2012
  129. MoeWest #

    I’ve always loved Silent Night. Thanks for the great giveaway.

    December 7, 2012
  130. Charlotte #

    Anything by Frank Sinatra. Thanks for the chance to win your cute little bag.

    December 7, 2012
  131. I like Jackson 5’s version of Santa Claus Is Coming To Town.

    December 7, 2012
  132. Bethany #

    I love Christmas carols. I listen to them all year round and couldn’t possibly choose a favorite. There is a children’s musical album that my parents ported from record to mp3 that I think is outstanding, called Mary Had a Little Lamb. It’s amazing, and I don’t know if it’s even available anymore.

    December 7, 2012
  133. BlessedCP #

    Love your bags and the fabric choices! Thanks for the giveaway. I love Oh Holy Night and Carol of the Bells! I adore Christmas music!

    December 7, 2012
  134. pam #

    Cute bags. I really like “What Child is This”

    December 7, 2012
  135. stephanie #

    What nice bags. My favorite song is the one about walking in a winter wonderland.

    December 7, 2012
  136. I love Silent Night.

    December 7, 2012

Comments are closed.

