Skip to content

Sunday Stitches: A quick and easy Tumbler

I’m officially smitten with die cutters. I have no interest in owning a machine, but after spending 45 minutes with the one at Island Quilter (back in early July) and walking away with over 250 cut Tumbler blocks, I was over-the-top enfatuated.

I loved being able to use up all the extra fabric from Curious Nature (Parson Gray). Adding in a couple solids, plus really big (6″ finished) pieces and it’s all coming together quickly.

I really think a scrappy apple core quilt is in my future.  Or maybe a drunkard’s path. As long as I don’t have to hand-cut a zillion curved pieces, I’m all in.

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. oh, how sweet to have access to a die cutter without having to acctually buy one! the tumblers are looking good 🙂

    September 3, 2012
    • I know a lot of shops have them and allow them to be used for a small fee. At Island Quilter it was under $10 ~ money well spent! You might check local scrapbooking shops, too, and see if theirs can be used for fabrics.

      September 3, 2012
  2. Tamie #

    There are still giveaways out there from time to time. I won one and can’t wait to use it. I selected several half square triangle dies that pre-cut the corners off for easy sewing.

    September 3, 2012
    • I love how easy the trimmed corners make it to line the shapes up precisely. Have fun!

      September 3, 2012
  3. cool. are you going to buy one? let’s quilt some quilts soon eh?

    September 5, 2012
    • oh, no. I might buy a die and borrow a cutter, but I need less stuff, not more.

      oh, yes on the quilting. do we have charity quilts to finish?

      September 5, 2012
  4. This is so lovely! I adore it.

    September 6, 2012

Leave a Reply

