Skip to content

Sunday Stitches ~ 7-8-12

I’m really not sure where to start. It’s been a busy (extended) holiday weekend and I loved every minute of it. I took Thursday and Friday off on vacation, just to play with quilts ~ and play we did!

Island Quilter on Vashon Island is the most amazing shop I’ve ever been in. Ever ~ and I’ve been in dozens. It’s worth the ferry ride just to see it. Every month they feature a new quilt exhibit, and July is the Seattle Modern Quilt Guild. On Thursday, the June exhibit came down (also local quilters), and July went up in preparation for Friday evening’s reception.

The first Friday of each month is an art walk in downtown and when you add in the visiting guild members and the beautiful weather it was the perfect mix.

I should have taken pictures of the crowd, but as it happens I was too busy chatting to think of it.

Luckily, I got photos of all the quilts before the gallery filled up.

I promised an update on my challenge ~ and while it’s taken a few extra days, I’m happy with what I accomplished. With the exception of the table runner, and half the binding on Bumbershoots, it’s all done (she says with a huge sigh of relief). Best of all, I finished both Urban Innocence (at the top of the post and again hanging here), and Breezy:

I didn’t realize until I was home that my photos were terrible, so it’ll have to wait until the end of the month for better pictures. Which is just fine because the quilt has a few “issues” I’m looking forward to fixing when it gets home. And then, a la Norma Desmond, she’ll be ready for her close-up.

And what’s next? How about a tumbler quilt?

I have to admit this isn’t how I saw my first one when a tumbler went on my bucket list, but it’s perfect for the next project. I had all the leftover fabric from the Curious Nature quilt, so I pre-cut it into 7″ strips and took them with me to Island Quilter on Friday. Thirty minutes on their AccuQuilt, and I have about 275 of these blocks ~ and they’re big (6 inch finished), with all the corners cut to make assembly easy. $5 well spent!

So much more to share, but it’ll keep for now. And I’m trying a new canning recipe tomorrow after work, so I’ll let you know how it goes. Have a great week!

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Mary Lou #

    We told you a LONG time ago that Vashion was the best!

    July 8, 2012
    • I know – and that was before it got even better!

      July 8, 2012
  2. Wow, those photos are amazing!

    July 30, 2012

Leave a Reply

