Skip to content

It’s not JUST quilting around here ~

In between all the quilting projects, I’m participating in two knit-a-longs (KAL). Both are mystery projects, one clue every week. So far I’ve kept up, although I expect this week’s “aggressive” goal for quilting might change that.

The first is the Mystery Shawl from Through the Loops. My dear friend Roz surprised me with the  Scarlett Fleece Trinity Lace in “Mexican Sunflower”.  Just beautiful, and a lovely gift. This KAL started officially on June 1st (although Kristen released the pattern a day early ~ incredibly kind for us impatient types) so I’m currently working on Clue 4 of 5, a bit farther than the picture below.

The 2nd is a Wendy Knits project, from the very talented Wendy D. Johnson. The Summer Solstice Mystery Shawl began last week with the cast-on and set-up rows. For this one, I pulled one of my 3 precious skeins of Wollmeise out of the stash.

It’s the first time I’ve used it, and while I love the saturated color, I have to admit I’m on the fence about the yarn. It feels a little like string to me, but I’m guessing it will soften with soaking and blocking. If you’re not familiar with Wollmeise, it’s a little spendy (although the yardage is generous) and it takes some skill and planning to acquire it. Think “bloodsport” and you get close.

The deep cobalt blue, plus the solstice theme, inspired the choice of beads. I wanted a starry summer sky (not that we’ve seen may of those around here lately), and I found these cool silver lined crystal beads at Earthfaire.

They’re so fun ~ grabbing the least little bit of light and putting on a show.

So just in case you think I’m spending what little time I have left after quilting on sleeping or doing chores, now you know the truth.

Anybody ever tried to knit a dust bunny?

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Mary Lou #

    When do you find time to work, sleep, eat, be on the computer, be with Jon………?

    June 25, 2012
    • What’s sleep and who’s Jon?

      June 25, 2012
  2. Roz #

    Is there anything you can’t do? The KAL’s are looking great and the quilts…well, they’re awesome!

    June 27, 2012
    • Thank you, Roz ~ and believe me: There’s plenty I can’t do.

      June 27, 2012

Leave a Reply

