Skip to content

Friends don’t let friends knit out of grocery bags

It started with 3 FQs of Amy Butler Lark I had stashed away.

I very seldom buy fat quarters anymore,  and this is exactly why ~ I find cutting into fabric to be easy (I’m not much of a hoarder that way),  but using it ALL up? Ouch.  I recently had to order more chartreuse Alexander Henry Heath before I could use what I had for the back of a table runner.  When I fall in love with a fabric, I fall HARD.

Anyway, after watching the spectacle of my friend knitting yoga socks from a plastic grocery bag (which can’t be good for her karma),  I decided I’d use these beautiful fabrics to make the Pink Penguin lunch bag.

Have you tried one of Pink Penguin’s tutorials or patterns? They’re terrific!

Ayumi recommends using either a duck weight fabric, or interfacing with a sturdy Pellon 809 Decor Bond. Which I was sure I had, but with all the cleaning and sorting I’ve been doing (more on that later this week) I couldn’t find it.

I did have some fusible Thermolam, however, so that did the trick. I fused it to the outside fabric, and then quilted straight lines every inch or so. Just enough for some extra stability and to help with shaping.

(Whereupon I immediately located the missing Pellon. Right where I looked for it 3 different times. Aggravating.)

After that, it’s just a few steps to the finished tote. Say good-bye to the grocery bag, Lady!

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. heartsease57 #

    I did the same thing for a friend of mine! Not for knitting, but for holding all of her odds & ends when she comes to our sewing group. I got tired of looking at her paper bag with twine handles that she used to hold all of her threads, scissors, seam ripper, etc. So I made a couple of Ayumi’s bags, 1 for me & one for my friend. She was thrilled. Ayumi’s tutorials are terrific & very easy to follow.

    May 24, 2012
  2. awesome bag! I love the pink penguin fabric buckets, and this lunch bag is on my list 🙂

    May 24, 2012
  3. I know exactly what you mean about using up all of a piece of faric. I’m fine with cutting into a large piece but feel a sense of remorse when I use it all up.

    I love that bag and might have to make one for myself to carry around my knitting.

    May 24, 2012
  4. I just saw this bag recently on another blog and fell in love with it. Seeing it in your colours reconfirms the need for one (or two, or three…) that need to be made. Fabulous turquoise fabric! So nice! I’ll bet your friend doesn’t miss her grocery bag!!

    June 1, 2012
    • I love making this bag ~ they make great gifts (especially if you like to give yourself gifts!) I ended up buying yardage of all three fabrics after I used up the FQs. Fabric addictions are nothing to laugh at.

      June 1, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Web Weekend #14 « merricontrari

Leave a Reply

