Skip to content

Happy Path & Bloggers’ Quilt Festival

With so much going on, I almost missed that this week is the Spring Bloggers’ Quilt Festival on Amy’s Creative Side. I’m sneaking under the wire here, but I wanted to share this baby quilt:

Happy Path was made from scraps left over from another special project, a quilt made several years ago for my daughter Ashlee.  Most of the pieces were already cut into squares or rectangles,  so it was just a matter of sorting the fabrics and randomly piecing.

I tried to keep the trimming to a minimum and just squeaked by with enough fabric.

Once I had the blocks built, I crosscut each and inserted a sashing strip, purposely cutting (where possible) through the largest pieces to add continuity across the sashing.

A final sashing strip between blocks (and rotating the blocks to avoid intersections)  finished the top.

When it came time to piece the square back, I couldn’t resist playing with a 9-patch.  Or in this case, a 9-patch in a 9 patch in a 9-patch. Can you tell I love them?

I quilted it with a freehand feather meander – the first time for me on a large scale.

Does it have a home? Not quite yet.  A month from now we hope to know if we’re having a grandson or a granddaughter in October. So maybe, or maybe it will wait for another. It makes me smile either way!

Don’t forget to check out all the wonderful quilts at the Bloggers’ Quilt Festival ~ it’s so much fun!

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. this is a beautiful quilt! congrats on the expected grandbaby!

    May 22, 2012
  2. Lovely quilt! Thanks for sharing a bit about your process.

    May 22, 2012
  3. Love how while it’s scrappy, it’s done in such an organized way. A very interesting technique with adding the sashing strips!

    May 22, 2012
  4. What a pretty quilt! Love your post about the process too.

    May 22, 2012
  5. I am in love with your quilt and your fabric! Beautiful quilt!
    Vivian B.
    http://www.1squareinch.blogspot.com

    May 22, 2012
  6. Lovely quilt and I really enjoyed seeing the process too.

    May 22, 2012
  7. This is feminine and beautiful! I love how intricate the back is, and the quilting is gorgeous!

    May 23, 2012
  8. Love that! It certainly makes me happy.

    May 23, 2012
  9. I love the quilt, whoever gets it will be lucky to own it! Love your idea of putting the sashing in the blocks and then rotate them to avoid intersections. Thank you for sharing!

    May 27, 2012
  10. This is SO lovely – a beautiful place to spend lots of time napping. Just love it, top and bottom.

    June 1, 2012

Leave a Reply

