Skip to content

Quiet here? I think not!

Despite the silence on the blog, things have been hopping around the studio (and outside, too). Forgive me if this is long-winded, but quite honestly I get more finished if I blog about it. Or maybe I just feel better when I can see what I HAVE done.

After 10 days with nothing on my needles (gasp!), Last Monday night I cast on Wingspan.  It’s a simple, garter stitch scarf with a lovely twist ~ short rows that form offset wedges. Just something fun and easy to quiet the brain. And being just a bit mad for martinis, the numma numma in Extra Olives is a pleasure to knit with.

Then I slipped up a bit….for the first time in months, I have two projects on the needles at the same time. I picked up some Cascade 220 Sport to take another try at a Juneberry Triangle. It requires a bit more attention to knit, but I’m so glad I found a yarn that works for it. I hate frogging AND giving up completely.

I’m finally blocking finished shawls, and I’m only three away from having all the blocking done (not that it’s ever really “done”).

Finished and ready to wear are Morgain:

My 2nd Lazy Katy (excuse the weird blocking pics):

And Kleio:

I love them all, and it’ll be tough to choose which one to wear first!

Fabric:  It’s been sort of pouring in lately.  Yards and yards of lovely. A big stack of Echo for Ashlee’s new quilt, some of those rockin’ Art Gallery Oval Elements Dots for the stash, enough Curious Nature to make me giddy.

And these two beauties ~ the only fabric I bought on my shopping trip at the Sewing and Stitchery Expo. Dragonflies, of course, and then a full yard of Ruby Star Rising typewriters (insert multiple exclamation points and happy dancing):

That’s not all my news, but I’ll save a bit for later in the week.

So what’s next?

Lots of quilting ahead for March ~ besides Min’s quilt,  Ben’s quilt is ready to load. Kona Snow arrived yesterday so I can finish the border of the Hexagon quilt (due for an auction later in the month). Plus a couple sew-ins, a retreat and more.

Stay tuned ~ I’m quite certain the silence was temporary.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Mary Lou #

    Just bring me the polka dots and I will be happy!

    March 6, 2012
  2. oh my goodness !!!! i want us to be neighbors ! x
    http://www.nestajackson.blogspot.com

    March 8, 2012
    • I have to agree ~ just think of all the yarny trouble we’d get into! I adore your Color Affection. Plucky Knitter has a colorway I drool over, but sadly it’s never in stock. Thinking about trying to re-create the colors from somewhere else. Or just keep knitting from my stash (which sounded very adult of me). xx

      March 9, 2012

Leave a Reply

