Skip to content

Blue, it is ~

I always pack my camera. I take my laptop. I plan my projects accordingly. I have EVERY intention of blogging when I’m at retreat ~ live-action, creativity-intense blogging of both my projects and my friends’.

And I fail. Sometimes just a little, sometimes a lot. This one was a biggie. There were some great projects to see this weekend. Blame it on being sick, focused on my quilting,  just plain lazy, or even the truth: I’m having too much fun to bother. So there it is. I could promise to do better. I won’t.

So what did I accomplish this weekend? Min’s quilt top is nearly finished. Just one more round of white sashing strips and it’s ready to quilt. Or it will be once I decided how I want it quilted.  Cue the nervous butterflies.

I’m ridiculously happy with this one.

About 1/2 the blocks came from a virtual quilting bee almost 2 years ago. I sent out the fabrics with instructions to make a modern log cabin block. No wonky, but other than using the white for the centers, anything goes. They were amazing, each one different, and I knew almost immediately that this was Min’s quilt.

To be honest, when I packed the project box on Friday, I thought there were more blocks in the set.  I quickly realized this was a bigger task than I remembered, especially since I wasn’t even close to having a layout planned.

Despite some really wretched weather this weekend, silver lining was how much I love sewing with these fabrics and colors. Every one. Working on it was a joy.

Fourteen new log cabin blocks, plus two frames (white and navy) on all 25 blocks, plus sashing strips and it’s nearly finished. Like magic. Or maybe not magic. Maybe just a lot of love and a little inspiration. She loves blue.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Oh that turned out so beautiful! I love the fabric combo, just awesome!

    February 21, 2012
  2. haha! don’t you dare stop to take photos or blog when you are at retreat. You should just be enjoying yourself 🙂

    February 21, 2012
  3. Beth tays #

    Your quilt looks great—It was great, as always, to have you at the retreat. Looking forward to March. Thanks for coming—Beth

    February 21, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Quiet here? I think not! | Sleepy Owl Studio

Leave a Reply

