Skip to content

Potato Bags

First, let me start off by saying that these bags are for the purpose of microwaving potatoes. So if, like one of my crazy-talented friends, you do not have a device which heats your food by exciting the molecules, this might be of minimal interest to you.

If you’re still with me, here’s the rundown:

I’ve heard potato bags are terrific. They result in evenly cooked, moist and fluffy baked potatoes and sweet potatoes.  Now that there’s just two of us at home, I use the microwave a lot more than I did when the kids were living at home, so I decided to give this a try last year.

I bought 2 yards of Warm Tater. Made by Warm & Natural, it’s a 23″ wide all-cotton batting made without any glues or resins. I can’t tell from the website if it’s really different than the original Warm & Natural batting, but it does come with instructions on how to make these bags.

Before I got to the actual construction, though, my friend Sheron gifted me one and I was a convert. Since then, I’ve been meaning to make them for everybody I know. So why today (finally)? Well, I picked up our load of co-op produce today, and included were several ears of corn. Which, I have discovered, is easy to cook perfectly in the bag. So before I sort out and deliver the produce, I thought I’d whip up a couple of these bags to go along.

Layer batting, outer fabric right side up, and lining fabric right side down. Sew around the sandwich, leaving a 5" opening on one long side.

The first and most important thing to remember, by far, is that you can only use cotton materials to make these. That’s batting, thread & fabric (no metallic or frost designs, either).  Anything else will scorch and burn sooner or later.  That being said, every microwave is different, so don’t wander off when you’re using these, just in case.

Trim the batting 1/4" at the opening, turn right side out and whipstitch it closed.

Fold one end over 7".

The instructions with the batting are for a 10″ square bag, with a caveat to measure your microwave first (you need at least 1″ between the bag and the side of the microwave). Keep in mind that if you have a turntable, you need clearance on the diagonal, too.  A better fit for mine is 9″, so I cut the batting and fabric 9.5″ x  21″.

Fold the other end, overlapping by about 1" and forming a 9" square.

Sew across each side, adding extra re-inforcing stitches on the flap.

When done sewing, machine wash and dry the bag, and then try it out. Below are the times I use, but you should adjust accordingly depending on your microwave:

  • Potatoes (2 medium): 6 minutes
  •  Sweet potatoes (2 medium): 8 minutes
  •  Corn on the cob (2 large, husk on, ends trimmed): 6 minutes

Next up? Lunch!!

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Leo #

    I personally don’t have one and probably never will have one – and I almost blew up my grandmas as i never learned that you do NOT und no circumstance put a metal tin in it. But I have bookmarked it, as I have a friend who’s regularly “cooking” with the microwave, so I bet the potato bag would be a good surprise, especially coming from me. I’m soooo old fashioned (according to my friend) that I even cook my rice in a normal pot.

    February 11, 2012
  2. Mary Lou #

    Make a round one for heating tortillas! Best way ever.

    February 11, 2012

Leave a Reply

