Skip to content

Progress at last!

This past week as been full of progress, and I needed it. One quilt completely finished. Granted, it just needed the binding done on the last two sides ~ but it had been that way for about 5 months.

Three more quilted, with binding attached and just the handwork to do.

Fractured Harlequin

A couple hours spent with a lovely friend learning to use my machine on a beautiful baby quilt. So fun!

And finally on the frame (again) and ready to quilt.

This guy really stumped me the first time on the frame.  I had a vision all along of how I wanted to quilt it and bought the zigzag pattern boards (used on Fractured Harlequin above) just for this quilt. But when I loaded it the first time, with the long seams horizontal across the frame , I knew immediately I was in trouble. I couldn’t keep the seams straight, and I knew once I started quilting back and forth across the long seam allowances, it was likely to get worse.

When I took it back off the frame, it was with the intention of rotating it 90 degrees and getting back to work on it. Which didn’t happen ~ probably for the good as I’ve learned the hard way that charging on doesn’t necessarily end well. I’m much more optimistic this time.

All in all, a very satisfying week ~ and a LOT of handwork in my future.

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. I really like that square-in-a-square. Appealing design and great color choice. The border fabric is particularly nice.

    January 30, 2012
  2. mariajhmom #

    I’m really eager to see what you’re going to do with the last quilt! I have a geometric quilt loaded on my machine and can’t decide what to do with it.

    Your finished quilts are fabulous…as usual. What a good feeling!

    January 31, 2012
  3. You do amazing work! I also can’t wait to see how the last quilt is finished.

    January 31, 2012

Leave a Reply

