Skip to content

Sunday Stitches ~ Storm recovery

You would think that being housebound by the weather all week would have meant a lot of productive time in my sewing room. But the truth is, I worked from home most days and by the end of the work day I wasn’t all that interested in spending more time in there. I did get Morgain bound off and ready for blocking,

and made a few Farmer’s Wife blocks,

and put my HQ16 back together, and made bread, and….okay, it wasn’t a total loss.

Still, this weather has been a ridiculous distraction and I’m over it.

It’s time to tackle the stack of quilt tops. I thought I’d start with something quick and easy to get back in the rhythm again. But first I needed backs.

The first one is for the square-in-a-square quilt. It took a little time, since even I can’t make two yards of fabric turn into the back for a 60×66″ quilt. I retrieved all the remnants I’d already sorted neatly into my scraps, plus a couple of the solids from the front and set to work. I suppose I could have been a bit more organized about it, but I just kept adding fabric until it was (barely) big enough.

The second is for Fractured Harlequin. Much easier, as it’s a table runner and I had plenty of the dropcloth print. The trouble was finding it. Yeah, I’m a little too tidy sometimes. And I said easier, right? So it turns out I didn’t have plenty of the dropcloth print, especially since I wanted to use it for the binding, too. So back to piecing I shall go.

The third back is for my scrapbuster baby quilt. I didn’t plan to quilt this little top until I needed a baby girl quilt, but I have an opportunity to submit some of my own designs for a project and this is one of my favorites. So “Happy Path” is getting a back pieced from coordinating solids.

And once those are pieced, it’ll be time to load the frame and get to stitchin’. Assuming, of course, the storm predicted for this afternoon doesn’t take our power out.

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Pieced remnants or not, that backing is gorgeous. Try to enjoy the snow. Some of us don’t get ANY and it makes us really, really sad and homesick. 😦

    January 22, 2012
    • Ah, snow. Loved it when the kids were small (except for the pile of wet coats, boots and gloves by the front door), but less now. Luckily, we don’t get it all that often so I do try to appreciate the beauty. After all, it’s not like I have any control over it!

      January 22, 2012
  2. Being snowbound (with electricity) sounds kind of fun for this Florida girl. Though I realize that the reality is probably quite different.

    I “organized” my sewing room over the holidays and now that everything is in it’s place, I’m having some difficulty finding some of it. How do you like your HQ16? A longarm is on my “one day” list without a doubt. It looks like you’ve got some great projects ready to load and quilt.

    January 22, 2012
    • I really love my machine. I’ve had it for several years and have been really happy with the reliability and ease of use, although I will never run out of new things to learn.

      January 22, 2012
  3. I love the idea of pieced backgrounds. Makes a quilt even more interesting.

    January 22, 2012

Leave a Reply

