Skip to content

Wrapping up a quilty weekend

I love retreat weekends. All the planning and packing, loading and unloading (and then repeating the process 3 days later), is worth every bit of the effort. Every weekend is a little different, but it’s especially nice to come home with a couple finished quilt tops.

The first is the square-in-a-square quilt. I started it last spring, and many of the blocks were put together with the help of the wonderful quilters in the “Bee there or bee square” group on Flickr. Every quilter is different, but sashing each block and then trimming to size is a great trick for making it all come together easily.

The 2nd finish has been marinating for a while. I started it during a quilt-along hosted by Julie of Jaybird Quilts back in 2010. I “finished” it once, but decided that rather than moving all the leftover fabric to my stash, I’d see how much bigger I could make it. It’s a lovely twin now, and it may still get a round of ivory so I can trim the sides straight, but the hard work is done (thank goodness!)

With both of those done, I worked on a scrap quilt. I’ve shared a bit of this one before as I stitched all these wedge scraps together. They’re the leftovers from Moulin Rouge ~ over 350 identically sized trimmings I just couldn’t ignore. Sewed together in strip sets, trimmed to 7.5″ squares, cut diagonally (half left-to-right and the other half reversed) and the triangles paired up. Playtime!

At this point in the process, these blocks go together pretty quickly ~ I have 6 done and enough to make 30. A great project for the next couple very snowy afternoons.

Although I might need some hot cocoa to keep me going ~

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

