Skip to content

One last project for 2011 ~

I’m here ~ and about 90% well finally. Christmas has been packed away neatly for another year, my HQ16 has been re-assembled, and yesterday I even did a bit of machine embroidery. I made labels for a hanging knitting needle caddy. Why?

Because despite my best efforts to be organized:

This is how my needles often look:

Yikes. I’ve been thinking about a hanging needle caddy for a while now, but I finally got down to business last night.

The front is for circular needles. I used the metric measurements for the labels, and included a space at the bottom for a needle gauge. I had to do a little unsewing on it this morning to ease in some shifted fabric, but otherwise it’s fine. I’m not a fan of spray baste but this might have been a good place to use some.

Today I’m working on the other side. Pockets this time, for DPNs, interchangeable tips, cables and notions (cable ends and size markers). A lot more fussy cutting and sewing to get the labels on the pockets ~ but lots of happy fabric to work with.

And when it’s done? Back to knitting and quilt planning for 2012. What’s your plan?

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Mary Lou #

    Really cute. I have made a couple of needle cases before, and have been adding a lot of circulars, so I could use the hanging one as well. For New Years Day I am planning on a get together with friends to sew that little tote as my new project for the day. It is tradition in my family to start and finish a project on New years.I already made a Christmas one and it is holding my cards. I need to put up some pictures, I have been busy.Mary Lou

    December 30, 2011
  2. @pril #

    This is a really cool idea! Looks great.

    @pril
    KoolBeenz-blog.blogspot.com
    For-the-Love-of-Pie.blogspot.com

    December 30, 2011
  3. love love LOVE it, and I’m not even a knitter!

    Great ideas!

    December 30, 2011

Leave a Reply

