Skip to content

Day 21 ~ Time to get real

It’s one of those days. You know the ones. I’m walking the fine line between anxiety over getting everything done, and being realistic about pulling it off.  Realistic will win out (it always does), but not without a struggle.

So what have I been up to? Last night I finished a pair of mitts for a friend. It would have been nice if I’d remembered to take a picture, but you’ll have to trust me that they’re lovely. The pattern is Crazy Rib Mitts, and the yarn is the always gorgeous Claudia Handpainted Sock in Blue Fields:

It’s taken me 4 months (starting with a big purge/frog party) to get all my knitting off the needles. Next is emptying the “basket of doom”. Lots of weaving and blocking – although I’m seriously considering some excellent advice about hiring out the lace shawl blocking. I’m actually looking forward to weaving in all those ends. It’s just about my speed right now, plus I’d love to wear my 2nd Lady Eleanor.

And the next project? Pattern printed, yarn wound, needles at the ready and that little thrill of anticipation poking at me. Any bets on how long I can hold out?

Lastly there’s the overdue bee block. The very LAST bee block. I can’t wait to see this quilt when it’s done:

So, with all that behind me and only 4 days left for shopping, cleaning, cooking and gift wrapping, I’m officially suspending my Make Merry Challenge. It did exactly what I needed it to do – it’s been a lovely 3 weeks. Even with this miserable cold.

Plus I think I need a little break to get ready for all that 2012 promises ~ and it’s promising big!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

