Skip to content

Day 8 ~ Quilting progress and a knitting tell-all

Let’s start with the really good news. Ashlee’s Christmas Wreath is pieced:

I like it. A lot. I had a passing thought earlier in the week that it would be nice to have it quilted by Saturday. It would be nice, but it’s not going to happen. My HQ16 is disassembled right now, and I don’t want to put it back together until after Christmas Day (we use the table for our buffets).  I do think I’ll quilt it on the Pfaff (a confession for another day). Just something simple. On Sunday.

Then there’s the good news. Kleio is off the needles.

I was certain the last two or three hours that I wasn’t going to have enough yarn to finish the never-ending edging.  Absolutely certain. And now I’m just smug.  Just under 4 yards left. Of 400 yards. ONE percent.

But before I get too full of myself…..

Kleio goes in the basket with Lady Eleanor for finishing.

Here comes the not-so-good-news:  Lady Eleanor isn’t the only thing in the basket.

Two pairs of socks, some mitts, a scarf, three more shawls, a cowl and a couple hats. I think. Yeesh.  I have one pair of mitts on the needles right now (a commissioned project), but I’m not casting on anything else until I work the basket down by at least the stuff that needs blocking (another reason I need the long table clear).  You heard it here.

NOTE: Please excuse all the “Why-is-the-neighbor-taking-photos-at-2am?” shots. Not very good lighting, but a great use of insomnia-time.

Day 8 of the month-long Make Merry @ Sleepy Owl Studio challenge is done. All the posts for this month can be found here, along with links if you’d like to join along.

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Congratulations on finishing Kleio. I love projects that make good use of yarn yardage. It can be a bit nerve wracking at the end though.

    December 8, 2011
  2. Oh my, the Christmas wreath is just beautiful! I love it. I can’t wait to see how you’re going to quilt it.

    December 8, 2011
  3. Grace #

    The wreath turned out so pretty! I might have to have a go at the topsy turvy pattern at some point in time.

    December 8, 2011

Leave a Reply

