Skip to content

Day 3 ~ A flurry of cutting & piecing

Last night was the final Seattle Modern Quilt Guild sew-in for this year. A huge thank-you to Sue P for generously coordinating the dates (and re-arranging her life) twice (or more) a month for us.

Remember this? 

In keeping with my challenge, I brought Ashlee’s Christmas quilt to work on. I was a little worried, only because the next step was a lot of fussy cutting ~ something I normally do at my kitchen island as it’s counter-height and saves me from some serious back pain later.

In fact, it worked out fine. I grabbed one of the large round tables, which made all the twisting and turning to cut the wonky squares just a bit easier. I cut 5 rows (I think there will be around 15 total), and got all those sewed together.

I admit there’s a couple things I’d change if I was doing this project again, but since I was making it up as I went along I can live with it. It’s happy and cheery and the colors are perfect for Ashlee & Camden’s apartment.

I’m still on the fence about whether it’ll be a wall hanging or a throw, but Ashlee gets to make the final decision.

Today is Day 3 of the month-long Make Merry @ Sleepy Owl Studio challenge. All the posts for this month can be found here, along with links if you’d like to come along.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Beautiful! I am so glad I decided to splurge on a few pieces of Flurry for my Christmas placemats, I wish I would have been faster at making that decision though b/c I am in love with this line. Always a day late and a dollar short here!

    December 3, 2011
    • Isn’t it a lovely fabric? I only bought a charm pack and yardage of a couple prints. I’ll be sad when it’s gone.

      December 3, 2011

Leave a Reply

