Skip to content

Counting down the days

December 1st – Day One of Make Merry @ Sleepy Owl Studio! If you’d like to play along, click on the badge (or on “Make Merry” up above) and head over to the page. Add a link to your own holiday post, or a picture in the Flickr group. Or just post a comment about what makes the holiday special for you.

A few years ago I bought a pre-printed panel for an advent calendar.  It was a fun project – lots of cutting and hemming, making and attaching pockets, quilting and binding.

I hang it up every year. The first couple years, I diligently filled every pocket. We may not have pulled a treat out every day, but occasionally I’d find myself standing near it with one of the kids and we’d have a sweet snack or two to catch up.

The last couple years, I’ve just pinned it up over another wall quilt and checked the box for “Hang Advent Calendar”.

Yesterday at lunch I ran a couple errands, including a trip to the holiday candy section.  When I got home last night, I put it up in a new location. It’s in the kitchen (covering the ugly electrical panel). It’s full of candy.  Dark chocolate, peppermint bark and mini candy canes.

All ready to start counting down the days.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

