Skip to content

Sunday Stitches 11-13-11

What a mad stitching weekend this has been.

Friday evening was supposed to be a marathon to get my challenge quilt finished. And the sheets changed, laundry done, house cleaned, etc. Instead I worked on Kleio. I got far enough with color 1 that I started to worry I might not have enough (I may have been a bit overzealous with the extra repeats at the start).

I weighed what was left, and it’s pretty obvious I’ve knit myself into the proverbial corner. All is not lost (thank goodness ~ because I have no intention of starting over!), and a 2nd skein has been ordered. I doubt I’ll need more than 100 yards of the 2nd skein and I can always use another pair of mitts so I’ll think of it as providence.

Yesterday was a Seattle Modern Quilt Guild Sew-In. I got to show off my tablerunner challenge quilt….top. Yep, not quilted. Apparently the real challenge for me lately is actually finishing a project. Here it is with Laurel’s lovely placemats:

I opted for totally mindless sewing. About 350 identical wedge-shaped strips (leftovers from Moulin Rouge), sewed into pairs. I have lots of ideas for this project, but it’s too soon to tell what it really wants to be.

And today my HQ16 finally got some use. Not by me (reference challenge above), but my friend Katie (Sew Katie Did). Her Scrappy Sunshine quilt is fantastic, the pieced back adorable. Do yourself a favor and keep an eye on her blog – you won’t want to miss seeing her quilt finished!

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Thanks, it was a wonderful day and I’m piecing binding right after this! p.s. my gloves are divine!

    November 13, 2011
  2. Laurel #

    Oh Look! My placemats are famous on the Interwebs! Your work is absolutely gorgeous—I’m bummed about your charger extending its vacation in Cabo, but I can’t blame it for wanting to stay a bit longer, can you?

    November 17, 2011

Leave a Reply

