Skip to content

Avoiding quilt labels?

I’m the last person who should share about quilt labels. I’m really bad about making them. Terrible, even. I have friends who make amazing labels. Some are handwritten, some machine embroidered, all are thoughtful and lovely.

Me? I’ve made them several different ways (when I do it at all), but I did come up with this simple method last year and I do like it. Enough to actually use it. Occasionally.

I used a Pigma pen in the photos below, but it could be embroidered either by hand or machine, or printed out on fabric.

I started with a 5″ square, but if you need more space you’ll want something larger. Experiment with folded paper squares until you find a size you like.

Press the square in half diagonally. If I’m handwriting the label, I place a piece of blue painter’s tape on the back to stabilize the fabric, and then write on.

Pin the square (right side to the quilt)  in one of the bottom corners of the quilt back. Hand stitch along the pressed line. I use a simple running or backstitch to secure it.

Fold the label down along the stitched line. Now complete the binding as usual, enclosing the last two sides of the label  in the binding allowance.

This is quick and easy, and I should be completely without an excuse for not labeling my next quilt. Right?

17 Comments Post a comment
  1. thanks for the tip, I’ll try this next time I finish {hahaha} a quilt. I think it will help me to actually make labels more often if I don’t wait until the binding is complete. At that point I really want to just move on to other projects.

    November 12, 2011
    • I know how you feel (about both the “finish” and the “move on”). 😉

      November 12, 2011
  2. That’s a label I think I could make. Thanks for the tip!

    November 12, 2011
  3. Sheila #

    Brilliant, so easy and so effective.

    November 26, 2011
  4. joan #

    ingenious! and so perfect for quilts that aren’t exactly heirloom quality (like many of mine)!

    November 26, 2011
  5. Love this idea. I’ll definitely use this for small projects like table runners etc. Thanks for sharing.

    November 28, 2011
  6. What a great idea! Thanks for sharing with us.
    (I’ve popped over from Generation Q magazine)

    November 29, 2011
  7. Thanks for your tutorial. I mentioned it in my latest blog post: http://afriendlikeben.com/2015/09/21/modern-appliqued-quilt/

    September 21, 2015
  8. Why do we get so bent out of shape over labels? Sometimes I think I stress more over them than the actual quilt! ;). Thanks for sharing. I can do this!

    April 2, 2016
  9. Kelly #

    If it’s quilted in, it can’t have the label ripped out and the quilt stolen.

    September 7, 2016
  10. Sharon Kassler #

    Do you leave the painter’s tape in the label?

    April 21, 2017
    • No, it’s just to stabilize the fabric when printing. Thanks!

      April 21, 2017
  11. Chris Jones #

    I’m a machine quilter and really hate to do handwork. Your label idea is a great one that I will use. Thanks for the tips, especially stabilizing with the painter’s tape. I keep it on hand and use it especially for making straight stitching lines. Thanks for sharing!

    June 19, 2017

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Avoiding quilt labels? | Sleepy Owl Studio | She Who Dies With The Most Fabric Wins | Scoop.it
  2. Saturday Special: Mustard and Labels
  3. Modern Appliqued Quilt | AFriendLikeBen
  4. December 2015 BOM | seattle modern quilt guild

Leave a Reply

