Skip to content

Wrapping up a busy weekend ~

Despite missing a retreat weekend, I managed to fill up the time with nothing but stitching and knitting (okay, I did get the laundry done).

Friday afternoon started with a trip to the post office to mail bee blocks:

Then I worked on my Habitat Challenge quilt.  I knew from the moment I had the fabric in hand what I wanted to do with it.  I started with fat eighths of 6 different prints, and then bought additional yardage of the charcoal. I also added the dropcloth fabric for the back (it snuck into the front in a couple places, too.).

I sized it for a large table runner (20 x 70), which is perfect for my dining table.  The top is finished, with just the quilting left to do.  I admit in the beginning I was on the fence about the fabrics, but I really like it now. Want a sneak peek?

We’re sharing the finished projects on November 12th,  so I’ll have to get it on the frame and quilted. Soon.

Saturday was a Seattle Modern Quilt Guild  Sew-In. It was pretty well attended, and we had a couple new members, too.  I even took some pictures this time!

Meaghan was working on a chevron quilt. I’m seriously considering having her pick fabrics for every quilt I make from now on.  The photo doesn’t begin to do it justice, so you’ll have to trust me that the “ooh” factor is over the top.

Grace and Dina were sewing binding:

Ashley was working on her challenge quilt:

Noelle and Kathy were VERY focused:

And I worked very hard on a small project I can’t share yet. Okay, maybe not VERY hard, but there was measurable progress.

Sunday I drove down to Lacey to check up on my friends at quilt retreat.  Lots of hugs, a trip to the quilt shop, a lovely lunch out, and the rest of the afternoon spent knitting (on my Pin-did project for tomorrow) and visiting.  I left my camera at home, sadly, because I saw some amazing work.  What a goof.

Speaking of knitting, I finished my Harvest Sunset mitts, and I’m completely and totally in love with them:

This week promises to be a busy one, but that’s okay. I’m sure I’ll sneak in a bit of mischief!

One Comment Post a comment
  1. They turned out beautifully!!! 🙂 I’d be absolutely delighted if you’d share that in the FO thread on the RAV group! 🙂

    November 5, 2011

Leave a Reply

