Skip to content

Pin-did Tuesday 10-11-11

As I shared on Sunday, I came across this Pinterest challenge put out by Amanda of The Modern Marigold:

I must have changed my mind half a dozen times this week, but finally came back to where I started. Silly, really, since the challenge is completely open-ended. To quote Amanda:

Short, sweet, simple: every week, DO something from your pinboards.
Or from someone else’s pinboards.
Or just something that you’ve been meaning to try in general.

And once you’ve done it, blog about it and then share it here. Even if you don’t blog, go check out what other crazy-crafty types have been up to.  I know I will!!

So what did I pick for this week? Salted Chocolate Caramel Pretzel Bark.

I had to do it.

I love making English Toffee. It’s so darn easy.  And a search for “salted caramels” turned up this variation, which simply uses a layer of pretzels in the base. I wanted something a little different than the standard twists, though, as I thought they would make it awkward when it came time to break it up. A trip to Trader Joe’s solved my dilemma:

I asked my Gran a few years ago for her toffee recipe:

“Two cups of butter, two cups of sugar. Cook it until it’s the color of peanut butter. Pour it on a foil lined sheet. Sprinkle with semi-sweet chocolate chips and wait a few minutes for them to soften. Spread out the chocolate, sprinkle with nuts.”

That’s it. I’ll let you know how the pretzels work out once it’s cool enough to sample. Waiting for that is the hardest part.

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Mary Lou Finch #

    So, are you bringing samples? You can make fresh ones, that’s OK, you can even bring down the ingredients and we can have a cook-in!! I make my toffee with saltine crackers. YUM!!

    October 11, 2011
  2. mariajhmom #

    Could I have a bite, please???

    October 11, 2011
  3. Tamie #

    Oh my goodness. I find it hard to stop eating those flat pretzels, I can only imagine if they were a toffee base.

    October 11, 2011
  4. Ummm yeah. Can I come over?

    October 11, 2011
  5. Yumo! This looks wonderful! I can nearly smell it.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Debbie

    October 16, 2011

Leave a Reply

