Skip to content

Sunday Stitches 10-9-11

Sunday afternoon: chores are done (including a pile of clothes and stuff to Goodwill), hardware store trip is complete (new lighting for above my quilting machine), grocery list is made and Jon has been sent to hunt/gather (he’s a champ!)

Pearl's idea of how to spend a Sunday afternoon

What else have I been up to this weekend? Friday night was a Seattle Modern Quilt Guild Sew-in. My dear friend Katie (of Sew Katie Did) posted some great pictures. I’ll add these simply because they make me smile. I love how engaged everybody is ~ it’s always like this. A warm, supportive, creative group of quilters that I’m so proud to be a part of.

I finished the last few blocks for a square-in-a-square quilt. Just the trimming left to do and I can put these together. Easy!

With Lady Eleanor off the needles (and in the growing finishing pile – eep!), I was thrilled to have my yarn arrive from Ethereal Fibers on Thursday.

As promised, I immediately cast-on a pair of fingerless mitts. It knits like a dream! The pattern is Winter Birches (from Lisa Dykstra), designed in a beautiful cream/grey colorway. But with the spooky/horn of plenty season upon us, I thought the “Vintage Halloween” yarn from Kellee was perfect. I’m calling them Harvest Sunset, and when I finish them (hopefully by tomorrow), I don’t intend to take them off until Thanksgiving.

So what’s up next? As soon as I push “publish” on this post, I’m diving into some bee blocks I’ll share with you tomorrow. And Tuesday? That’s reserved for the weekly Pin-did Challenge.

Amanda (of The Modern Marigold) put out this challenge for those of us with Pinterest addictions: DO something! Every week. From your boards, or someone else’s or just something in general. Brilliant, I thought. So every Tuesday is a Pin-did post. I can’t wait to see what everybody is working on.

And that’s just a bit of the mischief planned for this week! What about you?

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. Totally just made my day! 😀

    October 9, 2011
  2. I think it was a post from you a week or two ago that got me to finally tried one of the recipes I pinned. I actually made it tonight with a modification and am looking at making my first item with a zipper. Thank you for the inspiration to DO instead of just Pinning!

    October 9, 2011
    • Good for you ~ you’ll be looking for reasons to add zippers before you know it!

      October 10, 2011
  3. *love* your fingerless gloves. I’ve been scouring etsy for a pair for myself, and yours are definately the nicest I’ve seen. You knit beautifully 🙂

    October 9, 2011
    • Thank you. I love mitts – they’re so quick and fun to knit.

      October 10, 2011
  4. Mary Lou Finch #

    Oh, I might need the directions for those fingerless gloves! See you Friday!

    October 9, 2011
    • I’ll be down to visit, but I’m not coming for the weekend. 😦 Get lots done so I can see it on Sunday, okay?

      October 10, 2011
  5. You might want to take them off in Mexico…or just go heels, bikini and fingerless gloves, plus handmade bag. Make sure to send picture.

    October 9, 2011
    • I wouldn’t do that to you. 😉

      October 10, 2011

Leave a Reply

