Skip to content

Sunday Stitches: A Hexipuff Tote

Update:  Thanks to some very kind responses here and on both Flickr and Ravelry, I’m working on a tutorial to share. Look for it by the end of the week.

Have you seen “The Beekeepers Quilt“? It’s actually knit, made up of little stuffed hexagons all tied together. So cool!

I fell completely in love with it the very first time I saw it on Ravelry. So much so, that I quickly clicked away from it. I could tell it would easily become an obsession. But as with most things, I haven’t got all that much willpower. Add up knitting, quilting, geometry and a take-along project and I probably didn’t stand a chance in the first place.

Still, I’m determined not to start until I have my Lady Eleanor finished. So instead, I spent this afternoon making up a prototype project bag. Yesterday I drafted a base for the bag. A couple tries with my 60 degree triangle and I drafted a hexagon that could be cut from one standard sheet of paper.

Once I had the base, today was a matter of deciding how tall I wanted it, and whether I wanted the pockets on the inside or the outside.

I pulled half a dozen fabrics for it, choosing Patty Young Flora & Fauna. Hummingbirds, luna moths and honey bees ~ an easy choice.

It really is a prototype. No handles (yet), and if I want to do more than have it sit next to my chair in the evenings, it’ll need a drawstring to keep everything contained.

For now, I’ll just load it with hexipuff supplies and get back to work on my shawl.

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Julie #

    ohh it’s really clever. And the fabric is beautiful.

    October 2, 2011
  2. Barb Colvin #

    I’d use grommets for the drawstring. You could use a pretty coordinated ribbon for the drawstring. Great design 🙂

    October 3, 2011
    • I was thinking grommets, too. I’ll have to sneak off to Joann’s later and see what I can find. Thanks!

      October 3, 2011
  3. Sami,
    I have successfully avoided the hexipuff craze till now. I love that bag. Please, please , please write up a tutorial on it. I need to make one.

    October 3, 2011
    • I just need to work out a few more details, but I’m hoping to have the tutorial up by the end of the week. ❤

      October 3, 2011
  4. That bag is super cute! I love it.

    October 4, 2011

Leave a Reply

