Skip to content

Scrapbusting blocks

Don’t you love a project that practically makes itself?

That bag of leftover’s I grabbed on the way out the door to Saturday’s sew-in? They’ve gone from a pile of squares, strips and bits of yardage to quilt blocks:

Pretty cool, huh?

Now, anything that starts with Amy Butler fabrics has a lot going for it, but I have to say I’m pretty pleased with how easily this is coming together. Especially since my process went something like this:

  • Dump out a bag of scraps.
  • Randomly piece fabrics.
  • Press seams.
  • Add more pieces.
  • Repeat.
  • Choose a finished block size simply based on the biggest (and most underused) ruler on the wall. (15″ in this case)
  • Keep adding fabrics until the blocks are big enough.
  • Chop the blocks in unequal halves.
  • Insert strips.
  • Repeat.

And repeat the entire process until you make enough blocks or run out of scraps.

I have 8 blocks finished and I’m working on the 9th. I still have to decide how to assemble the blocks: Piece with narrow sashing strips for a baby blanket or small throw? Or add wider sashing (maybe a narrow white border and a taupe sashing) for a larger throw?

Suggestions are always welcome!

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. VickiT #

    Ooh very pretty. I really love those colors

    September 20, 2011
  2. I love this! I liked reading how you got the blocks to this point. From the picture it looks kind of like they already had a narrow sashing between each of the blocks and I kind of like that! Just one possibility.

    September 24, 2011

Leave a Reply

