Skip to content

Sewing a Little Forest ~

I made a little forest yesterday.

It took all evening, but it was worth the work. And why did I make 25 itty-bitty trees?  I joined the Misfit Quilters Tree Block swap, of course!

Have you see the Little Forest Quilt? Designed by Sharilyn Wright of Lovely Design and posted almost 2 years ago on the Purl bee, it’s a charming and endlessly popular design.

After a vote, the decision of the group was to make a multi-color quilt rather than all green. The guidance was simple – choose a fabric that reflects you,  and make 25 trees.  Since I seem to sneak the Mini Mike’s gingham into just about everything lately, it was an easy choice. If I had the fabric in orange, I probably would have used it. But I do so love this happy green, so all is well.

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. Tami Thurston #

    You just didn’t have enough to do, You added another swap? You amaze me. Can I get some of your energy and determintaion please?

    August 23, 2011
    • Guilty. An evening putting my blocks together, and another evening when the blocks come back to put the quilt top together ~ how could I resist?

      I have more determination than energy, believe me. You don’t even WANT to know what I don’t get done!

      August 23, 2011
  2. Love your forest!

    August 23, 2011
  3. I adore these tiny trees and can’t wait to see your quilt! What a great swap idea.

    August 23, 2011
    • It really is a great swap. We voted on background color (snow won), and whether to do green or multicolor trees. So fun!

      August 24, 2011
  4. Selina Koreski #

    Love your trees! I didn’t know you joined us over on the Misfit Quilters group 🙂 I can’t wait to get all of these and start putting them together.

    August 23, 2011
    • I did ~ what a fun way to make this quilt. I’ll be stalking the postman. Again.

      I just discovered we’re neighbors!

      August 24, 2011

Leave a Reply

