Skip to content

Studio Miscellany

I didn’t get a lot completely crossed off the list this week, but I did make progress. And I have the pictures to prove it!

Two quilt tops finished and in the growing “to-be-quilted” stack. It’s no wonder I’ve given up trying to decide if I’m a “modern” or “traditional” quilter,  by the way.  Hard to imagine two quilts less similar.

The last two August bee blocks are finished and the whole stack mailed. The first is Bee there or bee square (for Candace), and the 2nd (pair) is the {Modern 12} Bee for Lindsey.

My first little spindle of handspun yarn plied and actually knit into a headband (just right for riding in the coupe-with-no-side-windows). I’ll share it when the finishing work is done.

What else? The fabric for the back of Ben’s came, along with the extra Jay McCarroll Habitat fabric I ordered for my guild challenge quilt. I also scored DS Collection Fairgrounds Zigzag stripe for the back of the picnic quilt ~ on sale.

Today is bit of a crazy day with errands, chores and family time, but I did squeeze in the time to piece the back, press the top and load Pic-a-nic Basket on the frame. Still trying to decide on which quilting design to use (pattern board or freehand), but I don’t have to decide until….tomorrow. Yeesh.

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. Tami Thurston #

    WOW. It’s looking like I won’t have to climb on my broom and head out there this year. you’re just cranking right along with all those goodies. Welcome to the dark side with the spinning.

    August 13, 2011
    • You should still get on that broom – I need a spinning teacher!

      August 14, 2011
  2. The dresden plate quilt is one of the happiest things I have seen in a long time.

    August 13, 2011
    • You’re so sweet. That’s nice to hear – I was going for happy!

      August 14, 2011
  3. let me know when you go freehand, i wanna be there!

    August 14, 2011
    • I do more freehand than anything. Let me know when you have one you want to do and I’ll make sure the machine is cleared and ready. Those little running boxes you keep pinning would be really fun and easy!

      August 14, 2011
  4. Mary Lou Finch #

    Why do you need to decide between modern and traditional. Each has it’s own place. I’d go with both, more choices that way.

    August 14, 2011
    • I don’t. It’s just one of those funny dialogs going on that doesn’t really have an answer.

      August 14, 2011
  5. Well, wow, I don’t know about completely crossed off, but if you got that much finished, that definitely counts for something big!!

    🙂

    August 14, 2011
    • I hope so ~ but it’s a LONG list!

      August 14, 2011

Leave a Reply

