Skip to content

Hand-spinning yarn – because I want to!

Not for one second do I think I need another craft. Not even one related to a craft I already love. So now that we’ve got that out of the way, let’s talk hand spinning yarn.

I mentioned the Sock Summit almost in passing last week, partly because it was too much fun to even try to describe.  I plurk (kind of like Twitter, but not).  Somewhere along the line I dragged my dear Libby into it, and along the way we have acquired an amazing group of friends. Many (most) of them are of the fibery persuasion. They’re a delight! More than a few live in the Portland , OR area, or were making the trip for Sock Summit II. So with the Summit WAY out on the horizon, talk began of a meet-up of Plurkies on that Friday night.. Roz was so gracious to offer her home. The wait was terrible.

But SO worth it. Lib and I had an amazing time. Most of us were too busy visiting, teasing, laughing and generally making merry to even take photos.  That’s my excuse, anyway!

Libby’s not a knitter. We played a bit last summer at the cabin with teaching her, but the gin & tonics got in the way of any real progress. On Friday night, she was watching Christina spinning with a drop spindle, and was enchanted. Who could blame her?

My Trindle (left) and Ashlee's Turkish spindle

I came REALLY close to buying a wheel last Fall, but Fate stepped in and the funds went to something more important. I think I was a little relieved once the disappointment wore off. I have so much invested in my quilting (time and money), that making a big purchase for something completely different seemed silly. I suspect it’ll happen eventually,  but a drop spindle? No need to wait! Plus, Libby, Ashlee and I could all learn together ~ which is even better.

So we went to Sock Summit II Marketplace on Saturday with a whole new mission: drop spindles (x3), some roving, and a bit of instructional materials. We had some expert spinners to help us spend our money (they’re so generous that way!)

Lib and I got Trindles, and I picked up a Turkish spindle for Ashlee. They’re all lovely. Lib bought some beautiful roving from Fiber Optic Yarns, and I grabbed the companion video to Respect the Spindle (I’d already bought Ashlee the book).

We were set. Libby got the jump on us early last week, I studied YouTube videos, and Ashlee poured over her book. On Saturday when Ashlee and I went to Weaving Works for roving, we were somewhere around giddy. By then I’d also decided to look for a couple basic spindles to start on. So two Ashford spindles ($20 each) and a niddy noddy came home, too. Ashlee was spinning by Saturday evening.

Since I’m always about 12 projects deep, I wanted to finish up a few things before I attempted the spinning. So yesterday was all about clearing the decks just a bit. By late afternoon, I couldn’t wait any longer. For good reason. This is FUN!!

I have a lot to learn, but in one evening I’m completely smitten. Now if I could just figure out how to spin batting scraps into yarn, life would be perfect.

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. Years ago I took a class spinning on a wheel. I wasn’t very good at it, but it was loads of fun. I’d say any hobbie that lets you throw words like ‘niddy noddy’ out in serious conversaton is a good one 🙂 {I can’t begin to imagine what a niddy noddy is, but just reading it makes me laugh. I guess I’m easily amused}

    August 8, 2011
    • Wait until I get a distaff and a nostepinne! You’ll be rolling on the floor ~ 😉

      August 9, 2011
  2. Aponi #

    Uhm….batting scraps and fabric scraps?? Totally usable! Think “art yarn”!

    August 9, 2011
    • Great! I’ll bring you loads ~ 😉

      August 10, 2011
  3. mariajhmom #

    That spinning wheel is just lurking!!! I was NEVER going to learn to spin. It’s so relaxing.

    August 9, 2011
    • I know. I’ve started saving again. I have NO self-control.

      August 10, 2011
  4. That is great!!
    WHere do you buy wool to spin though?

    November 7, 2012

Leave a Reply

