Skip to content

Sunday Stitches 8-7-11

Busy weekend. I love it, but it sure flies by fast! Yesterday was a Seattle Modern Quilt Guild Sew-in.

Amanda, AraJane & Ingrid, Meaghan

Ashlee came with me, which made it extra-special. Meaghan brought our Jay McCarroll Habitat fabric for the guild challenge, and 12 of us swapped the postage stamp squares.

I did a little quilt geek math: 67 packages swapped, more than 6700 squares. Enough for 3 king-size quilts, actually. Pretty cool, huh? One more round of swaps on the 19th, and I’ll be ready to start working on my quilt. I can’t wait to see what we all come up with!

My project for the sew-in? I started sub-cutting and sewing blocks for Jeremy’s quilt. With the swap, visiting, and generally playing around, I didn’t get a lot done, but it was a good start. (Today I finished all the cutting and the pieced blocks so tomorrow the real fun begins!)

On the way home yesterday, Ashlee and I stopped at Weaving Works by UW. We were looking for roving, and hit the jackpot. I bought about 15 ounces of roving (at $2 an ounce), a niddy noddy, and a couple basic Ashlford drop spindles. It’s hard to tell in the photo, but the roving on the far right? Eggplant. Gorgeous! Hopefully tomorrow I’ll even have a bit of handspun to show off.

All that and I came home yesterday to this treasure in the mail:

So you can see I really suffered AGAIN this weekend ~ all I can do is try to make the best of it!

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. It was so fun to see everyone!

    August 8, 2011
    • I agree. I was amazed how well attended it was for August.

      August 8, 2011

Leave a Reply

