Skip to content

Sunday (Scrappy) Stitches 7-24-11

Scrap quilts. I love them.  Even if the fabric isn’t salvaged or repurposed or thrifted, even if it’s (gasp) purchased for the project, scrap quilts resonate with the tradition of patchwork. The whole being so much more than the individual pieces.

A few weeks ago I proposed a postage stamp swap for the guild. After a bit of discussion, we decided on 2 1/2 squares in packages of 100.  Since I was already digging through scrap jars for the scrappy strip sets, I pulled out 2 1/2 strips of fabric whenever I found one, cutting squares and setting them aside for sorting.

I also started collecting inspiration pictures, mostly Flickr favorites, of scrap quilts. What fun these beautiful quilt are!

1. Baby love quilt, 2. Central Park visits Bolton, 3. Fresh Cut Quilt – Heather Bailey Fabrics, 4. Purple Patches Quilt, 5. inviting!, 6. UHG Swap – Small Quilt, 7. Scrap Quilt #2, 8. Summer Scraps, 9. Quilt-along1

Today I got serious about cutting all my squares. Mostly because the room is getting a little out-of-control with projects and I wanted the squares done and off the sewing table. I cut through a stack of scraps, and then switched to yardage I pulled from my stash. It took a while, but when I finished there were 8 little sandwich bags of squares. One is mine to keep (thank goodness because you’ll see below I already broke into it) and the rest are to swap.

I played with a block idea a couple weeks ago, so I put three more together this afternoon to see how I like them. They start with 4-patch blocks, then 1/2 snowball blocks. Pretty simple, and lots of opportunity for chain piecing. Three blocks took me about 20 minutes. Maybe!

I’m not sure why this photo looks so wonky (the blocks really are nice and square), but you get the idea.  I’ll leave it up on the board for a couple days while I decide. Oh, and finish cleaning the sewing room!

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. I really like this setting – it is easy but looks so much more complicated. Love your scrappy little squares. Thank you for including my Baby Love Quilt in your inspiration mosaic.

    July 24, 2011
  2. The blocks are beautiful, love the bright colors!

    July 24, 2011
  3. sooo beautiful ! i love it. .x

    July 25, 2011
  4. That is a great looking block! I might have to try it myself, too.

    July 25, 2011
    • Isn’t it fun? Have a go at it – I love seeing your scrap quilts!

      July 25, 2011

Leave a Reply

