Skip to content

The Farmer’s Wife QAL – Week 4

Did I mention The Farmer’s Wife Sampler Quilt book arrived last week?  So much more than the quilt blocks, it’s a collection of letters written by farm wives in the 1920s in answer to the question “If you had a daughter of marriageable age, would you, in light of your own experience, have her marry a farmer?”

The letters are charming, fierce, reverent and independent in turn. It’s impossible to read them and not be struck by the amazing spirit of these proud women. And I have to say that it makes constructing the blocks even more fun.

I’ve finished 5 blocks in the last week:

#5 Bat Wing

#11 Broken Dishes

#12 Broken Sugar Bowl

#16 Calico Puzzle

#29 Economy

I’m playing with EQ7, scanning the blocks and laying them into a quilt.

I’m hoping to get something that works as a way to show my progress (at least better than the flannel board – which is filling up fast anyway), but I’m still learning so it’s slow going. That’s okay, though ~ it IS a year-long project, right?

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. Wow, the FWQAL is catching on like wild fire! I think I’m going to pick up a copy of that book for myself! Love your blocks!

    June 22, 2011
  2. love your fabric choices, especially broken dishes block. I am now convinced to redo mine, it just doesn’t have enough contrast to show of the block design and yours really highlights that.

    Loving the bright fabrics with the black on white backgrounds too, looks fantastic.

    June 22, 2011
    • Thank you. I have a couple that I’m not thrilled with the contrast on, but I’ve decided not every block needs to really shine. I may change my mind when it comes time to put them all together, but for now I’m not going to worry it.

      June 22, 2011
  3. Barb Colvin #

    Your use of black and white fabrics as a neutral fascinates me. So not something I would ever have thought of doing, and I love it!

    June 22, 2011
  4. Tami Thurston #

    Isn’t it just wonderful to read these stories. It makes me feel like I’ve steped into a time machine. I can see so many things that they speak of. The blocks are amazing. I can’t wait to see what you do with them.

    June 22, 2011
  5. Love your fabrics! I’ve got my book now, but just cant’ decide on what the fabrics should be…Thanks for the inspriation.

    June 23, 2011
  6. Love the B/W prints in the blocks! Makes the other fabrics pop!

    June 24, 2011
  7. Loving how this is coming out so far!

    June 25, 2011

Leave a Reply

