Skip to content

Tuesday – a bit of easy piecing!

My scrap jars are getting full (especially after all the bee blocks last week), and my zipper jar is stuffed, which is all the excuse I needed to take a break from the big projects and use up some fabric.

This past weekend I bribed a few people to “like” my Sleepy Owl Studio page on Facebook, and since I already owed a little something for a pass-it-on at the beginning of the year, I thought I’d make these gifts extra special.

Which brings me back to the scrap jars. I love dumping the fabric out and playing with it. I can’t help it.  The blue, orange and green jars were especially packed, so I’ve started with them.

I drafted the pattern to make a 9″x5″ pouch, with room to insert a pieced strip vertically into the front. Like the giveaway pouch below, I used the tutorial from Sew Together.

 

I would love to make these bags out of linen, but I still don’t have the right weight in my stash. (Can you believe it? My stash is incomplete?!?).

Guess I’ll have to rough it and use some of my Kona cottons. Poor me!

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Roz #

    those are SO cute Sandie…and you’re SO talented (and cute)…

    June 21, 2011
  2. Gorgeous colors all together! I wouldn’t be able to make anything, I’d get caught up in just tossing the scraps about and going ooooooooooooooooo at the colors. 🙂

    June 21, 2011
  3. CUTE! and useful. What a wonderful combination.

    June 21, 2011
  4. love the computer up in the background with a picture of more fabric – were you purchasing?

    June 21, 2011
    • LOL. No, not this time. It’s actually my wallpaper, which is probably not a great idea now that I think about it!

      June 22, 2011

Leave a Reply

