Skip to content

Definitely red

After yesterday’s piecing marathon, I didn’t have much energy tonight for being creative (lots of ideas, just not much energy). But it was well worth it, I think. City Tracks is all pieced, pressed and now in the stack for quilting.

I’m happy with how it came out, and ever so grateful to Ashlee for talking me through my concerns. Saturday night I pieced the rest of the blocks, including 30 or so red blocks to add a little punch to the center of the quilt. You can see below how it progressed:

Even in the 3rd photo, the red section looks to me like it could have been a bit bigger, but the quilt is actually 84″x90″ so the deeper center should lay fully on the top of the bed. Below is the final layout on the 72″ design wall, less the extra rows. It shows the size of the red section a bit better.

I’m playing with some geometric quilting motifs for it, but I’ll need to spend more time sketching a few ideas (and digging through some of my longarm tools) before I’m ready to quilt. I’m just glad to have the top done for now!

I am going to bed early – I get myself in trouble when I’m thinking instead of doing!

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. The red blocks really make it!

    June 20, 2011
  2. OMG, I LOVE it!!!

    June 21, 2011
  3. This is so lovely…great quilt!

    June 21, 2011
  4. Love the splash of red!

    June 21, 2011
  5. I saw your quilt on flickr – I love this quilt, I made it in reds, oranges, purples and pinks for my teenage son. I love how you have used the colours for this version!

    July 10, 2011

Leave a Reply

