Skip to content

Sunbonnet Sue

One of my most precious possessions. Made in the ’30s for our dear Gran, Jean H. Blight Dyson, who passed away early this morning.  Our hearts are heavy, but grateful to see her suffering end.  Love you, Gran!  

12 Comments Post a comment
  1. A lovely tribute.

    June 15, 2011
  2. Evelene Sterling #

    Oh I am so sorry to hear about your loss but glad to know she is no longer suffering.

    June 15, 2011
  3. beautiful, quilts and memories they hold for those we love . x

    June 16, 2011
  4. Tami Thuurston #

    Sorry to hear of Grans passing. What a wonderfull treasure for you to have to wrap yourself in her love during this time.

    June 16, 2011
    • Thanks, Tami. No wonder quilts are so important to us.

      June 16, 2011
  5. Sorry to hear that news Sandie. I’m glad you have this quilt to wrap up in and remember her by.

    June 16, 2011
    • Thanks, Meaghan. I had already promised Laurel I’d bring it to the next sew-in to share, not knowing I would need to pull it out so soon.

      June 16, 2011
  6. Truly beautiful! I don’t have quilts my grandma made me but I have navajo rugs that she weaved. Thanks for sharing and I’m sorry for your loss.

    June 16, 2011
  7. A beautiful quilt, I hope you find comfort in the memories it brings to mind.

    June 16, 2011
  8. something beautiful to remember her by. sorry for your loss.

    i have many framed pictures of sunbonnet sue in the attic.

    June 16, 2011
  9. Laurel #

    Oh, Sandie! I saw the photo before I read the content, and I immediately recognized it as your Gran’s quilt (with those lovely holes!)—I’m so sorry to read that she’s passed, but understand that relief to know she no longer suffers in this world. I’ll bring my sunbonnet sue squares next time, and maybe you can share a story about your Gran. Love, Laurel

    June 17, 2011
    • I thought of you this week, knowing you would understand those holes are important, too. Thank you, Laurel.

      June 17, 2011

Leave a Reply

