Skip to content

Making tracks ~

So busy bragging on Sunday that I didn’t take much time to decide what kind of mischief I could cook up in the studio this week. And yet, Monday still arrived.  A drizzly, grey Monday to start with, but a beautiful afternoon.

After admitting to neglecting home a bit, I came home and did a lot of picking up and cleaning. I’m glad I did – I wasn’t going to be able to hide in my sewing room forever!

Ashlee came over (I just love saying that) and helped me with this:

City Tracks quilt (from  “City Quilts” by Cherri House) for my nephew, Ben. I’m pretty jazzed about it now, but it’s been a bit of a struggle to get here.

I asked Ben (he’s 16) what his two favorite colors were. Definitely red, and he eventually settled on green for the second color. But it was the red that really mattered to him. I already had this beautiful book, and had chosen a pattern I wanted to use. City Tracks, in the book, is a gorgeous, dramatic quilt of deep reds, oranges, and pinks, with black as the accent color.

Since I was making a bed quilt, I decided to soften the colors and go with a variety of  taupe and tan, with red as the stripe. When Ashlee was home at Christmas, she helped me pick out the neutrals and reds (I added several more reds to the set below).

I pieced all the blocks in January at a quilt retreat. It’s a lot of blocks, but more cutting than sewing. So maybe it was fatigue, or the lighting in the room, or the fact that I was a bit distracted that weekend, but long before I had the blocks done I was sure I had made a HUGE mistake in my color selection. I didn’t cry (although I wanted to), and I kept going until all the blocks were finished.

Then I put the whole project aside.

I’ve looked at it a few times, mentioned my concerns to Ashlee more than once, and finally last night, with her help, the design wall went up and we started placing blocks. I still wasn’t sure at first, but she convinced me to stick with it. And you know what? I’m glad I did!

This isn’t all the blocks I’ve made (it’ll be a queen finished), just all that would fit on the design wall. I also have a handful to make based on an idea we had to punch it up a bit, but it’s getting close to assembly time. There will be much celebrating….until I have to decide on how to quilt it.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. I love it and glad you didn’t give up on it! What a great “guy” quilt.

    June 14, 2011
  2. VickiT #

    That’s a great looking quilt. You did a great job as usual and it’s an awesome guy quilt. I have that book on my wish list and will hopefully get my own copy someday soon.

    June 14, 2011
  3. I really like the color choices you made! It’s very masculine!

    June 14, 2011
  4. noelle #

    It is lovely!

    June 14, 2011

Leave a Reply

