Skip to content

Farmer’s Wife Quilt-A-Long

I didn’t resist for a minute. Didn’t even think about fighting it. When I saw that Angela of Fussy Cut and Amanda of msmcporkchopquilts were starting a Farmer’s Wife Quilt-A-Long, I jumped over to Amazon and ordered the book.

A couple weeks ago I was brainstorming ideas for a quilt starting with black & white prints and then adding one color to each block. Multiple prints, depending on the block, but staying generally monochromatic. So when I decided to join in, color was an easy decision. Especially since the blocks for the Farmer’s Wife quilt are 6-inch. One hundred and eleven of them, I’ll grant you, but only 6-inches each.

Photo from Angela (Fussy Cut)

The QAL is based on two blocks a week over the next year, and it officially started last week (yep, I’m starting out a bit behind!) Rather than waiting patiently for the book to arrive, I thought I’d take a look at some the blocks that are showing up in the Flickr group and get started.

As much as possible, I plan to pull the print fabrics from my scrap jars. I may need to add to my black & white prints, but I have plenty to work with to start.

I’m all caught up now.

12 Comments Post a comment
  1. YUM! I like it so far.

    June 9, 2011
  2. Tami Thuurston #

    I’m in. I have the book and while I don’t need a guilt, I don have a need that I was thinking of for holiday gifts. Your timing as always is perect

    June 9, 2011
    • Yay!! I can’t wait to see what you come up with. Are you on Flickr?

      June 9, 2011
  3. Beautiful blocks!

    June 9, 2011
  4. Linda Lillehammer #

    I ordered the book this AM and will be joining the quilt along. I love it. Thanks for saring.

    June 9, 2011
    • Wonderful! I can point you to the Flickr group if you’re interested?

      June 9, 2011
  5. I’m still wavering on this one. I really shouldn’t, I’m already doing the We Can Do It! Skill Builder Series, which is a year long project. But if I don’t, I’ll be kicking myself all year while watching your great blocks turn up on your blog 😉

    June 10, 2011
    • Better to have quilt blocks than bruises!

      June 10, 2011
  6. Selina Koreski #

    I didn’t fight it either. I was the 5th person to sign up in the flickr group. I’m amazed at how many people are doing it! I have my fabrics ready, but am still waiting for my book to arrive. I got it on bookdepository (dot) com without realizing it would ship from the UK! Ack! It takes 2 weeks… I’ll have lots of catch up to do once it finally arrives. I love your blocks.

    June 11, 2011
    • It’s gone viral, hasn’t it? I ordered my book on the 6th, so it should be here some time this week. I hope, although I joined the Yahoo group and it’s got templates and paper piecing files for everything so I may refer to that as much as the book. I can’t wait to read the letters, though. You’ll be caught up in no time – I did 5 (simple) blocks in a couple hours the other night. Looking forward to seeing your creations!

      June 12, 2011
  7. kim #

    Your blocks look fantastic!!!

    I’m just waiting for my book now AND some time to start!

    Looks like fun!

    July 21, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Getting a summer helping hand « Tamiknits and more

Leave a Reply

